Butternut Squash Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
I loved it :) Some changes I made were: roast the squash for more flavour I replaced the wine some Sleeman Honey Lager and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
My husband said this was EXCELLANT! He is an accomplished cook as well, I was amazed. This is very, very good. The amount of Stock (5) cups, is if you prefer a wet, loose risotto like the picture. Others said the broth is too much, this is true if you prefer a thick, "keep it's shape" risotto. We prefer the consistency of thickness so risotto will stand alone in a mound. I used only 3 cups of the broth to achieve this. I used shallots to equal about 1/2 of a yellow onion. I added about a 1/4 teaspoon of fresh chopped Rosemary at the stage of the last broth addition. I added a 1/3 cup grated Lionza, a local hard cheese much like parmesan, more pungent, at the cheese stage. Salt and pepper to taste. Awesome! Welcome to the restaurant in my house!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christineservando

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
This was nice! Different than your average risotto, but still straightforward to make. The large amount of liquid that the recipe tells you to incorporate really draws out the cooking, but the overall product was still worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dlisadoesit
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
This is one of our faves! I peeled and cube the squash then microwave it in a shallow dish with enough water to cover the bottom for 8 minutes- it way way easier to mash and faster too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dlisadoesit

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Is
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Delicious! Easy to make! Did exactly what recipe stated to do. This is not a recipe to walk away from. From start to finish, you are there stirring or adding more ingredients. I used frozen cubed butternut squash and it still came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
it was okay, I used with regular rice and was a bit of a sticky mess. but maybe I will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tricia
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Delicious! Takes a little more time Han indicates by this recipe to cook the risotto until it's "creamy." I covered the sauce pan with foil and that seemed to help the risotto cook better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Amazeballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
I loved this recipe! I didn't mash my butternut squash, I boiled it and then diced it into small pieces. Added scallions, white onions and fresh chives from my garden. The white wine is the secret ingredient for this recipe. I'll try it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Lightle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States