Butternut Squash Ravioli with Sage-Brown Butter Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
I would agree that there was too much spice, but maybe not as bad as some said.(personal preference I guess) I think next time I would make my own ravioli's and cut the spices a little bit as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rednut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
I had read everyone else's review saying to add less spice than what was called for and added a personal note to my copy of the recipe to do just that. But I accidentally mixed the filling up as written and OH MY! It tasted so sweet--like a really nutmeg-y pumpkin pie....which isn't what I was looking for at all. I want a squash ravioli where the main focus would be on the flavor of the squash itself. Maybe putting in 1/4 of the spices called for would be a little bit more what I'm looking for. Also, the wanton wrappers, while easy to buy, also fell apart in the boiling water about 10% of the time which I found slightly frustrating. This is telling me it's time to learn how to make my own pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
the filling is excellent, very tasty, I will never use won ton wrappers again, sometimes short cuts are not worth it, truly detracts from the flavor of the dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loves to entertain

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Vernon, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
The filling was great! We loved it. The won tons how ever kept falling apart..we had to play around with their shapes a bit. I only had ground sage so i cannot comment on the sauce. Paired it with steaks and english peas. Overall very good..will pass along to family :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misslula

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
The filling was tasty at first as I only used half of the spices. I used the won-ton wrappers and it seemed to work out okay. The sauce was not so good and the taste of the won-tons and even the inside once cooked was not so good either. Maybe this dish was something not for our tastes? Won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
Filling was good, though I added some brown sugar to take the edge off the other spices. We thought the ravioli came out slimy. May try again but would fry or bake them. Sage butter sauce was delicious - loved the taste and the texture of the sage. If they hadn't come out a slimy, mushy mess I would have given it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
Honestly I wouldn't even give this recipe one star. It was not to our liking at all. I read the other reviews and some people had problems using the wontons, I did not. The only problem with the recipe is the filling itself. It was awful. I've had butternut squash ravioli before and thought I would try to make it myself using this recipe. Won't be trying this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
This was great...I will make it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
I love butternut squash ravioli!!! This recipe was decent, but making it great is super simple. I read other reviews and used a bit less spices, but honestly should have used a lot less. Also i had another recipe that i have lost and i remembered that it said put dried cranberries and pecan pieces along with the sage into the butter sauce. and oh wow is it good! Otherwise, i love this pretty generic butternut squash recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennaB.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
I wanted to make home-made pasta for the first time for my boyfriend over the holidays, and because he likes butternut squash soup so much I decided to try this recipe. OH MY GOSH I was not expecting it to be SO good!! I was skeptical about the sauce at first, but made it anyway to stay true to the recipe and I'm glad I did. My boyfriend loved this recipe so much that he bought me a pasta roller for Christmas so that I would make it again for him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States