Butternut Squash Ravioli with Sage-Brown Butter Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
I gave this recipe 3 stars because I really liked the idea of using wonton wrappers to make ravioli. The reason I didn't give it more stars is because the seasonings made it taste like pumpkin pie wrapped in pasta. The sage butter sauce didn't work at all in my opinion. The first serving was a total loss. For sauce for the remaining ravioli, I sauteed fresh minced garlic and basil in olive oil. This helped balance out the too-pie-like flavor of the ravioli and we were able to eat the rest of it. Next time, I will only season the squash with Parmesan cheese, garlic and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
I would agree that there was too much spice, but maybe not as bad as some said.(personal preference I guess) I think next time I would make my own ravioli's and cut the spices a little bit as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rednut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
I had read everyone else's review saying to add less spice than what was called for and added a personal note to my copy of the recipe to do just that. But I accidentally mixed the filling up as written and OH MY! It tasted so sweet--like a really nutmeg-y pumpkin pie....which isn't what I was looking for at all. I want a squash ravioli where the main focus would be on the flavor of the squash itself. Maybe putting in 1/4 of the spices called for would be a little bit more what I'm looking for. Also, the wanton wrappers, while easy to buy, also fell apart in the boiling water about 10% of the time which I found slightly frustrating. This is telling me it's time to learn how to make my own pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
the filling is excellent, very tasty, I will never use won ton wrappers again, sometimes short cuts are not worth it, truly detracts from the flavor of the dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loves to entertain

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Vernon, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
The filling was great! We loved it. The won tons how ever kept falling apart..we had to play around with their shapes a bit. I only had ground sage so i cannot comment on the sauce. Paired it with steaks and english peas. Overall very good..will pass along to family :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misslula

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
The filling was tasty at first as I only used half of the spices. I used the won-ton wrappers and it seemed to work out okay. The sauce was not so good and the taste of the won-tons and even the inside once cooked was not so good either. Maybe this dish was something not for our tastes? Won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
Filling was good, though I added some brown sugar to take the edge off the other spices. We thought the ravioli came out slimy. May try again but would fry or bake them. Sage butter sauce was delicious - loved the taste and the texture of the sage. If they hadn't come out a slimy, mushy mess I would have given it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
Honestly I wouldn't even give this recipe one star. It was not to our liking at all. I read the other reviews and some people had problems using the wontons, I did not. The only problem with the recipe is the filling itself. It was awful. I've had butternut squash ravioli before and thought I would try to make it myself using this recipe. Won't be trying this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
This was great...I will make it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
I love butternut squash ravioli!!! This recipe was decent, but making it great is super simple. I read other reviews and used a bit less spices, but honestly should have used a lot less. Also i had another recipe that i have lost and i remembered that it said put dried cranberries and pecan pieces along with the sage into the butter sauce. and oh wow is it good! Otherwise, i love this pretty generic butternut squash recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenna Barson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Butternut Squash Lasagna

Pair this rich, easy lasagna with a crunchy kale salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States