Butternut Squash Ravioli with Sage-Brown Butter Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
would never make again, once was too much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
I don't even want to give this recipe one star. I've made butternut squash ravioli before, and I really enjoy the taste of them, but we were looking for a different recipe to try out something new, since we try not to make the same recipe twice. We used wonton wrappers for this, and when everything was plated and ready to eat, most of us were able to eat maybe two or three of the raviolis. I, personally, ate maybe one and half. The wonton wrappers made everything slimy. I had no problem cooking them, but the filling was awful. It was much too sweet, and tasted awful with the Parmesan. The sauce tasted awful with the ravioli, because of the sweetness. I ended up remaking the sauce and adding my own spices to it, in order to try to save the dish, because it tasted too bland for some of us. The only thing that saved this was the stir fry sugar snap peas and baby carrots that we decided to use as a side for this. I don't recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
I have found that pot stickers work awsome with the recipe, you can fill them with more then a teaspoon of filling. I use more of the spices then it says. I also make the sauce bigger if I have a load of ravioli and I use dried sage like two teaspoon or more. Also, I use any of the left over mixture in the sauce, it is makes it more decadent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
I tried this recipe, and the wonton wrappers really didn't work out too well. While being cooked everything exploded into the pot...and didn't taste quite right. Next time I'll use real pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
The flavor of this is very unusual and at first my husband and I weren't sure we even liked it. During the second ravioli we decided these were really delicious! After reading the reviews where people stated they had issues with the wonton wrappers falling apart, I decided to make my own ravioli dough. I made the dough recipe for Homemade Four Cheese Ravioli from this site and roasted the butternut squash the night before. I definitely started light on the spices and then adjusted to taste. I'm glad I did this because I ended up using way less spice than what the recipe called for per my personal taste preferences. I also probably doubled the parmesan since I am a cheese lover. The butter sage sauce was awesome with the crispy sage leaves, and cooking them this way really mellowed the sage flavor (I was concerned because I'm not a huge fan of sage). Defnitely a unique and really tasty way to use butternut squash. I served these as the main dish but I think they would make a wonderful side dish too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
This was a wonderful recipe and the members of my dinner party LOVED it! I think the spices compliment the squash excellently. The sage butter sauce adds a little touch to the already flavored ravioli. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
I love butternut squash ravioli - I order it often when we eat out. I changed a few things - knowing what I would expect it to taste like. I halfed the cinnamon and nutmeg suggested for starters for the filling. I added toasted walnuts to the sauce along with garlic, basil - and more sage. I also kept a little of the squash out cubed and added it to the sauce for texture. I made my own ravioli but in a pinch for time I am sure the wonton wraps would work fine. I will make this again soon. I always thought it would be a difficult recipe to do - but now I can have it at home anytime I like! Guess I will have to find something new on the menu to order. My family loved it~ Of course we are veggie people so that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by csljh2000

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kat
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
This was so good, I get them in the fall at a local italian resteraunt they're only seasonal there and not on the menu all yr round. I was so glad i made these, now I can have them whenever I want. Hubby liked them too, but not the sauce so much, he said they should have had a slightly sweet cream sauce. for those who had a problem with the wonton wrappers. I used egg roll wrappers. place 1 egg roll wrapper on a cutting board brush with eggwhite/water mixture. using a tablespoon arrange 4 dollops of filling on the wrapper 2 on first row 2 on back row place another wrapper directly on top press down around the filling to seal cut out suares of ravioli- I used a pizza cutter- then use a fork and press to seal all the way around the edges. place the ravioli on a floured cookie sheet and place in the fridge for 1/2 hr covered with a clean dish cloth. when ready to cook boil a large pot of water satled and oiled. add 3-4 ravioli at a time- the key is to keep the water at a roiling boil this will prevent them from sticking together cook 2-3 min. remove with a slotted spoon and place on a plate tent with foil to keep warm. if you over cook the ravioli they will fall apart and become mushy and slimey! Thanks for posting this recipe can't wait to make again. this can easily be swithed up with pumpkin or sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
I loved this recipe. The squash is awesome. I never cooked with squash but this taught me that it can be a very useful and tasty veggie. I also lessened the amount of spices so that squash came through a bit more. A friend made this with Acorn squash instead of butternut and the taste was different but not bad at all. I was however, disappointed with the sauce. I looove the idea of sage in the recipe, but it didn't come through in the sauce. I'm making it again to night and think I'll try a provolone cheese sauce instead. I think I'll add sage in there somehow though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie W

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
I love the filling! I used 1 cup shredded cheddar cheese to go with my 1/4 cup of Parmesan cheese! I served these with rosemary seasoned fried mushrooms instead of the brown butter sage sauce. We will be making this easy recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Butternut Squash Lasagna

Pair this rich, easy lasagna with a crunchy kale salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States