Butternut Squash Ravioli with Sage-Brown Butter Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
filling was great (did cut down on the spices as recommended by other reviewers)! Even my picky child liked it. However, we would like something better than the wontons. Just didn't have enough bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I cheated and used vegan frozen butternut squash ravioli. Also, I didn't have any fresh sage so I used a half tsp. of ground. I subbed vegan parmesan (sprinkled on top) and vegan margarine too and threw some peas in for nutrition and color. My husband and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smallu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
It was a lot of work for less than wonderful taste. The sauce was too bitter. the recipe should have said to put wax paper between the ravioli, because they stuck together and fell apart when served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
These are very good and easy to make. I do omit the cinnamon and allspice, though because it seems to "desserty" with those ingredients and has a weird taste with the sage butter. I also tossed about 1/3 cup chopped walnuts into the squash mixture. My husband, who is not a fan of vegetarian meals actually likes this dish. In so far as people having issues w//wonton wrappers... I used the smallest ones, toss in boiling water for just a couple of minutes - never have had an issue w/breakage, leaking, mushy ravioli, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carabn1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Wow, this was not good. The filling was tolerable, but the wontons tasted gummy after boiling and the sage butter sauce didn't blend well with the other flavors. I made this for my squash loving family and not one liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
The sauce was particularly funky, even though I completely followed the directions/tips the wontons got slimy then really sticky. Won't be making this again. Too bad...I really like good squash ravioli. The quest continues....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Peterson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brandon, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Zimmerman, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
I so wanted to like this recipe, and I will say that the filling was fantastic. Savory and sweet and smooth, it was delicious -- after the recipe flopped, I baked up the filling and ate it as a casserole-type dish on its own! The won ton wrappers were the problem here; I even used just one wrapper (folded over) and there was still too much of it. They were disgustingly soggy, so I did as other reviewers have recommended and baked them -- at which point they turned tough. The sage/brown butter sauce was fine. I'd probably use that again... but next time I try making b-nut squash ravioli, I'll certainly use REAL pasta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahmarie_co

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
Great recipe! As others have said easy to create but super impressive to guests. Not sure why people had a difficult time with the wonton wrappers staying intact, even the ones my 3 year old made held tight, smile. Will add mushroom and maybe some finally diced Vidalia onion next time for texture and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by doinit200

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Wow this was a terrible waste of a lot of time. The wontons stuck together while boiling and didn't even taste good. I didn't even try it all together with the sauce. I'm not someone to give bad reviews, but this was terrible. Now I have to figure out what I'm going to eat for dinner after all of that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RuffledApron
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
This recipe was great. I added some sauteed chicken to make it more of a meal that my husband would eat. I sauteed the chicken pieces in minced garlic, garlic salt and italian seasoning. After baking the butternut squash, I poured the remaining butter into the squash mixture with the spices. I added some worcestershire sauce into the brown butter sauce (tip from Carrabba's) and used 1/4 tsp ground sage since I didn't have any fresh on hand. I took the tip from another post and placed the raviolis (and chicken) in oven at 300 to keep warm while the other batches were being made/boiling. Served it with shredded parmesan and more italian seasoning on top. The flavors were complex and made for a very festive fall dish that my husband loved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RuffledApron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Butternut Squash and Mascarpone Gnocchi

See how to make homemade gnocchi with butternut squash and mascarpone.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States