Butternut Squash Ravioli with Sage-Brown Butter Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
A great meal idea! I made it using my own whole wheat pasta recipie, and a ravioli press. simple and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I'm going to rate this for the brown butter sauce only. Store bought butternut squash is to good to do all the work at home. I have made this with both fresh sage and ground. I prefer the fresh. I kept the leaves whole and when they crisp up in the butter- YUM!! This is a very easy week night no fuss no muss meatless dinner. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I made these twice. The filling is good as side dish, however I found the wonton wrappers were not a good tasting cover. If you didn't really seal them well, they opened up in the water, they also became water logged when they cooked. Nanc
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
The flavors are too extreme. I would leave out the all spice & cut back on the nutmeg & cinnamon. Even the sage butter sauce was too extreme, need to cut waaaaay back on the amount of sage. I do enjoy flavorful food as well as intesteing & unexpected flavor combinations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
this required soooo much work that i probably won't make it again- we had a butternut squash given to us by my farming neighbor so wanted to do something special with it, but this took a couple of hours and i wasn't all that pleased with the results. folded these wonton style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
This was an okay dish. I agree with other reviewers that the wontons seemed gummy or pasty. The dish did not reheat well. It was somewhat labor intensive, especially for a rather iffy result. I didn't have the issue with the spices as I reduced the amount; it just looked like it would be too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by luna
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I made this recipe and it turned out great. I agree, it is a dish that is easy, yet your guest will be impressed with. I added a pict or two of mine on this site. I sandwiched my filling between the wonton wraps and used a wash of corn starch and water as a sealer, then cut them out using a round scollop edge cookie/buscuit cutter. The only spice I used in my filling was a pinch of nutmeg & salt and a little grated parm, corse black pepper and some finely chopped parsley. Don't skip the sage in the sauce...it makes the flavor's pop! I would recomend this recipe, for a side dish or pasta course with pork, a salad or green vegetable & some good bread, for a simple but great meal for dinner guest's or, just for your family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I thought this recipe was not good at all. The squash didn't even taste like squash. If I wanted to eat pumpkin pie (or pumpkie pie filling) i would have made pumpkin pie. The Spices completly over powered the squash. I was very dissapointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
I tried this dish at a restaurant and loved it! So I looked up the recipe for it an got this one as one of many results. This recipe is comparable to what I had at the restaurant! It's really tasty, especially on a cold wintery day. The only changes I made, was to add toasted pine nuts to the sage sauce, and I made my own ravioli sheets. I highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katie802

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Worth the effort. First bite was eye-popping wow experience. The sage butter sauce just brings it all together. Added a little agave to the filling, to "fatten" the flavor. If you skimp on the spices, sorry, you're a wimp ;-) Only thing I might do differently next time: The won ton wrapping does not have an "Italian" mouthfeel. I'd love to try it with semolina dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tristan Naramore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Butternut Squash Lasagna

Pair this rich, easy lasagna with a crunchy kale salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States