Butternut Squash Pizzas with Rosemary Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
This has so many stars because people have changed/added things to this recipe but still gave it 5 stars... its kind of misleading. I made this as is, except I used butter w/ garlic powder instead of oil (flavor preference), a home-made crust (jays signature pizza crust from this site) and I ended up using way more cheese... 2 tablespoons is not nearly enough for a recipe with the word "pizza" in its name! I steamed my squash in the microwave for 3 minutes before I put it on my dough, rather than roasting it & used the butter to make a 'sauce'. I layered everything on my unbaked dough, and baked it at 425 until my crust was golden and the squash and onions were cooked perfectly this way. This was kind of bland, but still good.... I wouldn't call it a pizza when made as the recipe says, its more like a flat bread... I love the idea of this though so I will make this again with changes... ill use 1/4 cup of butter with garlic and parsley for the sauce and ill add sliced mushrooms as well as mozzerella and some feta cheese with the asiago cheese. Ill also add some sugar and a pinch of salt to the cornmeal on the bottom of the pizza, I think the sugar will go nicely with the squash. I think this would also taste good with an alfredo sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by <3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
This was great. I made my pizza dough out of a focaccia bread recipe found on this site. I didn't have rosemary so I used dried thyme instead, and added prosciutto along with the squash on top of the pizza. I also topped mine with some mozzarella as well as parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
I have made this recipe twice and it was delicious on both occasions. I only gave it 4 stars though because I made a couple of changes. For the rosemary, 1 tsp was not enough so I used closer to 2 tbsp. For the cheese, I used at least a cup over 2 pizzas it made. 10 minutes was also not enough, it took 15.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I made a pizza based on this recipe as a starting point because I didn't have or couldn't get all the ingredients. And it was great to follow regardless! What I changed was yellow squash instead of butternut, basil pesto instead of rosemary, both asiago and parmesan cheeses, also I used ready pizza dough and threw in some everyday seasoning (both from trader joes), then also added some dried oregano and garlic powder. So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bridget_bee

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
This pizza was light, but so tasty. I didn't use the cornmeal and I used the whole wheat pizza crust from Trader Joe's. I used Asiago cheese and it turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Added additional rosemary, mozzarella cheese & Italian sausage to the second one... was better. Edible, not even close to "great." Probably will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
This was excellent. Like a gourmet flat bread. I just used pre-made thin crust pizza crust and tossed a little crushed red pepper to the grated Parmesan cheese that was spinkled over it. Very nice with a salad. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by klml

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
Quite good! The key is fresh garlic pizza crust and asiago cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
This was great! I did change a few things- I carmelized two red onions and garlic in one cup of red wine. I also added sugar and basamic vinegar to the squash. I rubbed olive oil on the dough and sprinkled it with italian seasoning. Cooked in the oven and had olive oil, balsamic and italian seasoning in a bowl to dip the crust in! It was great, def be making this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
Instead of pre-baking the squash and onions, I just sliced them thin, spread them over the whole wheat herbed crust, then topped with rosemary. After baking for 15 minutes at 400, this was great! Its's a very tasty idea! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Pizzas with Rosemary

These individual pizzas put a tasty twist on pizza night.

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Stuffed Butternut Squash

Baked squash are stuffed with Brussels sprouts, carrots, beans, and rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States