Butternut Squash Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
very easy, and even the kids liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Courtice, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Too sweet. The main problem with this recipe is this: "1 butternut squash, halved lengthwise and seeded." How much squash? I am guessing that my disappointing dinner was because my butternut was too big, but how big is too big? Regardless, I am deleting this one from my recipe database.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Served this to my husband, kids and grandkids (so a diverse mix of ages and tastebuds). No one disliked it but no one thought it was spectacular either. I followed the recipe exactly other than to add a bit of heavy cream to the milk. I found it bland, though the squash did add a touch of sweetness and texture that was nice. Next time I would jazz it up more with some garlic and black pepper at the very least. I would probably also use some sharp cheddar and maybe smoked Gouda. Its a solid and easy recipe with a good addition of fiber and vitamins from the squash. It just needs more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
This was delicious. The butternut squash gave it a delicious flavor. Everyone in my house loved it. I will definately be making this again and sharing the recipe with family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina Benner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Excellent! We don't have kids so we're not trying to hide anything, but a message to parents, the squash disappears. I added a shallot and garlic to the butter, also substituted fat free half and half since I had no milk. Used 1T butter & 1T flaxseed butter substitute. I am from VT so always VT cheddar on hand, used sharp and extra sharp (cows don't produce yellow or orange milk, lol). Also added a bit of salt and fresh ground pepper. An absolute keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Just finished eating this and it is delicious. I made a few subtle changes - added garlic, salt and pepper as well as more milk because I like it very creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Meaford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
I made this for my kids and their friends for dinner. Even the picky eaters enjoyed it! Don't be overwhelmed by the amount of squash that's in it, the sharpness of the cheese hides flavor a bit. The next time I make it, I'll probably add a cup of cooked and chopped bacon to add to the layers of flavor. Great recipe, thank you for sharing! Review written on 11-3-14
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Jirges

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Great simple recipe. I made it in advance and then just heated it a little longer when needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
Holy yum and what a great way to sneak a delicious veggie into an old classic. Love this and wouldn't change a thing :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Royersford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dpecore
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
I loved this Butternut Squash Mac and Cheese. I puree the butternut squash and used 2 cups I also used about 3 cups of cheese, and I used seasoned Panko bread crumbs. I made this for work and everyone loved it and wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Chef John's Lobster Mac and Cheese

Chef John's decadent dish of Lobster Mac and Cheese is WAY easier than it looks!

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States