Butternut Squash Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I followed this recipse and the squash stuck to my nonstick aluminum foil and came out mushy and then burnt. It was terrible! I assume if you fried instead of baked, maybe it would work better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Again, came out too soggy. But I may have made the slices too thin. Will try again at a different size and bake time. Flavor was delicious though. Shook squash and oil in a ziploc bag. Spread out in a pan and salted with garlic salt. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah J

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Maybe I cut them too thick, but they were still pretty mushy. I couldn't remember if I was supposed to flip them halfway thru cooking-but it made a mess when I did. Stuck to the pan too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ndm726

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Eagan, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
I added some garlic powder! Tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
My son and I loved these, my husband was not a fan. I made a spice blend (chili powder, garlic powder and salt) tossed the fries in that then baked then on a cookie sheet with no stick spray. I will make again, might play with the spices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nakisisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I also used a little olive oil on the fries. They were delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Beals Rapponotti

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Placerville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
These were great! Coated these with some olive oil and a bit of seasoning salt, and they were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
This is a nice alternative to the usual soup I make. The fries were not soggy, but not crispy like regular fries. I think maybe next time I won't toss in oil and see how it works. This is a nice kid-friendly recipe that tastes great and is super easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by osulolli
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
I love this recipe. Since squash is one of the few things I can have since I'm not allowed to have store bought french fries or sweet potatoes due to candida, I tried this recipe in hopes of finding something really tasty. They turned out just like sweet potato fries and are now one of my comfort foods. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cnewt156

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I have a few assorted squash on my kitchen table that may not make it to halloween now, thanks to you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fliptrx

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cajun Fries

See how to make spicy, salty, slightly sweet baked squash fries.

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States