Butternut Squash Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by houston_mom
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
These are really good. They came out pretty crisp, not crispy just crisp on the outside and soft on the inside, not mushy at all! Make sure they are not too thin or too thick, they do shrink a bit. Cut them kind of like steak fries then you'll get mcdonald sized fries when they're done. Coat them very lightly in olive oil then season them. I baked them 20 minutes on one side then flipped them, after about 10 minutes on the other side I checked them and took out the smaller ones (they were starting to brown) then left the others in for about 5 more min. Perfect! My 19 month old is actually eating squash! Another important step is DO NOT over crowd the pan, leave space between the fries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by houston_mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I added a touch of cajun seasoning and was able to get my kids to eat butternut squash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
These are great, be sure not to cut too thick or they are soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
What a great idea! I cut up one butternut squash and made two cookie sheets of fries. One cookie sheet was seasoned with pepper & celery salt and the other sheet I sprinkled with sugar, nutmeg, and cinnamon. I did spray the cookie sheet to avoid sticking and cooked a little longer to ensure fries were crispy. These are wonderful! I have already made a couple batches and keep experimenting with flavors :) Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spyderooz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
I modified the method taking past reviews into account. Dried the cut squash on a towel with garlic salt and then roasted for 50 minutes. I pulled out the squash at the 1/2 way point to flip. They easily flipped and were noticeably steaming. Some cut thinner werer starting to wrinkle and the fatter slices were not. Did not roast to brown edges though; however, when I had one it was great! The texture was like that of a fat potatoe fry not super crisp like a cracker. I really enjoyed the taste which the salt helped to bring out. I could see these now being arranged into other dishes instead of just fries. Something like atop a pastry shell with butterscotch ganache or as part of a veggie casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
What a clever idea! I like sweet potatoe fries (I make them the same way at home with yams) and so this was easy for me to make and tasted great! I modified it slightly by putting paprika on it in addition to salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jasuther

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I followed this recipse and the squash stuck to my nonstick aluminum foil and came out mushy and then burnt. It was terrible! I assume if you fried instead of baked, maybe it would work better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Again, came out too soggy. But I may have made the slices too thin. Will try again at a different size and bake time. Flavor was delicious though. Shook squash and oil in a ziploc bag. Spread out in a pan and salted with garlic salt. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah J

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Maybe I cut them too thick, but they were still pretty mushy. I couldn't remember if I was supposed to flip them halfway thru cooking-but it made a mess when I did. Stuck to the pan too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ndm726

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Eagan, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
I added some garlic powder! Tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cajun Fries

See how to make spicy, salty, slightly sweet baked squash fries.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States