Butternut Squash Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Great flavor! I didn't give 5 stars b/c it takes forever to prepare the squash and then all the flipping while baking- high maintenance cooking. They seem to take longer than the stated 20 minutes and some pieces start to burn before other are even close to being done. I did 2 batches- one with salt, cinnamon, a little nutmeg and pumpkin pie spice- the other batch I used cajun seasoning. Both were wonderful! I put them in a ziploc with a little olive and the seasoning. I wouldn't expect crispy fries but they are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
These turned out more soggy than I thought they would. It was good eating vegetable instead of potato starch though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mirona

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
These fries were so good! First time I had tried butternut squash by itself and this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Deeelicous! Cutting up the butternut squash was a major chore (perhaps I needed a sharper knife...), but it was sooo worth it. I sprayed mine with Pam and ate them with ketchup (although they really didn't need it). Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
What a fantastic way to get away from french fries. It is a great substitute and healthy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chanhassen, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Butternut Squash Fries are awesome!! But this recipe didn't give it enough time to cook. I always shake the cut up squash in a ziplock bag with a little olive oil and bake the fries at least 45 minutes so they are crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Maryville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by houston_mom
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
These are really good. They came out pretty crisp, not crispy just crisp on the outside and soft on the inside, not mushy at all! Make sure they are not too thin or too thick, they do shrink a bit. Cut them kind of like steak fries then you'll get mcdonald sized fries when they're done. Coat them very lightly in olive oil then season them. I baked them 20 minutes on one side then flipped them, after about 10 minutes on the other side I checked them and took out the smaller ones (they were starting to brown) then left the others in for about 5 more min. Perfect! My 19 month old is actually eating squash! Another important step is DO NOT over crowd the pan, leave space between the fries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by houston_mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I added a touch of cajun seasoning and was able to get my kids to eat butternut squash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
These are great, be sure not to cut too thick or they are soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
What a great idea! I cut up one butternut squash and made two cookie sheets of fries. One cookie sheet was seasoned with pepper & celery salt and the other sheet I sprinkled with sugar, nutmeg, and cinnamon. I did spray the cookie sheet to avoid sticking and cooked a little longer to ensure fries were crispy. These are wonderful! I have already made a couple batches and keep experimenting with flavors :) Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spyderooz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cajun Fries

See how to make spicy, salty, slightly sweet baked squash fries.

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States