Butternut Squash Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 6, 2010
these are yummy! i have gotten our family hooked on these (even an extremely picky 5 yr old who wont touch veggies!!). To make them less soggy: cut the squash, salt it, then let it sit for like 5 mins, then pat dry with a paper towel. Salt/season again then cook on broiler pan. They must be cooked at least 40 mins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
flavor was very good. But that was all. Maybe I cut them to thin. They mushed all up. We just ate the mushed up "fries". Don't think I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Very tasty. I made one half of the squash following the directions almsot exactly. I sprayed with cooking spray was the only alteration. The other half I coated in melted Brummel and Brown butter (yogart butter) and added a little cinnaman and netmeg. Both were great. I was able to use a veggie peeler to peel the squash which was a lot easier than using a knife, especially for someone who tends to cut themselves a lot :). Thank you for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Very good! Even my doubtful 11 year old son enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
I used some olive oil, salt, roasted garlic and tossed. I used a broiler pan so the liquid would fall through the holes. They were tender in about 30 minutes, but I couldn't seem to get them crispy. They still taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Very good, I do the same with sweet potatoes too and they turn out delicious. I do bake them a little longer to make them crispier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Prescott Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
mushy. had to cook for about 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peggytate

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
I loved these but did them up old school but deep frying them in Canola oil and then when they came out crispy, I sprinkled them with salt, cayenne pepper, garlic powder and curry powder. They were and awesome side dish to the grilled chicken sandwiches I made that night! I realize they were a bit more fattening deep fried but not as much as standard french fries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Inga

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mount Horeb, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
these were great! I'd done this with sweet potatoes before but not butternut squash! I too basted it lightly with olive oil and sprinkled a mix of cinnamon, a tiny bit of nutmeg, salt and some pepper. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
These were very tasty, but they never got crispy like french fries. After an hour, we ate them as they were, and they were still yummy, but I was expecting a more french fry texture. It was also a LOT OF WORK to peel and cut the squash this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cajun Fries

See how to make spicy, salty, slightly sweet baked squash fries.

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States