Butternut Squash Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
This was a good basic recipe for fries. I salted before fries before hand on a paper towel to expell some of the water so fries would not be soggy. Let them rest about 10 min. Then I used some olive oil in the bottom of my baking dish and broiled them turning a few times for about 15-20 min and they were very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
Delicious! Try to slice them uniformly, and a little thicker, or else they will burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
I made up a pan of these and tried a few different falvors, some with just salt, some with a few herbs sprinkled on, some with onion/garlic salt but like some others have stated they were not like fries at all. They browned on the edges and eventually started to burn but never went crisp. And the thickness wasn't an issue because I used a veggies slicer meant for making thin potato chips. If I were to try it again maybe I'd lower the heat and cook for longer so they have more of a chance to dry out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
I've tried making butternut squash fries several times and this is the closest they've come to being actual fries. First I tossed them with olive oil and a generous amount of cinnamon. I did NOT salt them beforehand because I did not want to draw out any additional moisture. I salted them immediately after taking them out of the oven instead. I sliced them thinly and kept a close eye on them. As soon as they were nicely browned on one side, then flipped them and waited for them to brown on the other side as well. But be careful, there is a pretty short time between "nicely browned" and burned so don't wait too long. But don't flip prematurely either, because they will be soggy. All in all, some were burnt and some were soggy, but most were perfectly delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Neen718

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
Just could not get them to crisp. Even with an hour of cooking, all I had was burnt edges and soggy centers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
simple and perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockland, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
Excellent. At 20 minutes, these were cooked but very soft; at 45 minutes they were as crisp as oven-baked sweet potato fries. We added some pumpkin pie spice and kosher salt, and olive-oiled them as reported by others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
I made this recipe and it was a hit. The only thing I did different was at the end of baking, I broiled them to add an extra crisp. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sabs

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
i peeled and cut the squash like french fries and fried them on the stove in oil. tasted exactly like french fries! absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
This recipe did not work at all. The fries were soggy. I tried them on the pan (on foil sprayed with olive oil spray) and they were almost raw at 20 minutes and cooked through at 30 but soggy. I tried them on a rack on a sheet pan and they were soggy. I'm trying to fry the last batch on the stovetop now, but that sort of defeats the purpose of baking them. Still...butternut squash in just about any form is pretty tasty...they did not go to waste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cajun Fries

See how to make spicy, salty, slightly sweet baked squash fries.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States