Butternut Squash Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
I made this recipe and it was a hit. The only thing I did different was at the end of baking, I broiled them to add an extra crisp. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sabitri Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
i peeled and cut the squash like french fries and fried them on the stove in oil. tasted exactly like french fries! absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
This recipe did not work at all. The fries were soggy. I tried them on the pan (on foil sprayed with olive oil spray) and they were almost raw at 20 minutes and cooked through at 30 but soggy. I tried them on a rack on a sheet pan and they were soggy. I'm trying to fry the last batch on the stovetop now, but that sort of defeats the purpose of baking them. Still...butternut squash in just about any form is pretty tasty...they did not go to waste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
These were delicious! I also tossed them in olive oil with cinnamon, then made a maple syrup, butter and lemon juice "gravy" for them :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
I used coconut oil as opposed to olive oil... sea salt, cinnamon & Pepper.... 25 minutes and they were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
simple and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Caswell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopatcong, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Loved these fries.. added a little seasoning and they were great. Need to cook them longer though.. 20 minutes wasn't long enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Big Bear City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
These tasted delicious! I also tossed them in a little olive oil and used a little salt on half of them and some Lawry's french fry seasoning on the other half (fry seasoning is strong, so don't go too crazy). The only downside I found was they they are definitely not your typical fry and are a tad mushy in texture. I think I cut mine a bit too thin because when I went to flip them they kind of just squished together. Next time I'll try thicker cuts and slightly longer in the oven. Definitely worth the time...yummy and healthy side to your dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenna Lynne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clare, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Mine did not get crispy, but they were delicious and a much healther way to prepare than the standard brown sugar and butter bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
5 stars with the addition of salt, olive oil, garlic powder, cayenne, cinnamon, and cloves. Spicy/salty/sweet/savory and they do get crunchy, but you have to be patient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Friedman

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Oneonta, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cajun Fries

See how to make spicy, salty, slightly sweet baked squash fries.

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States