Butternut Squash Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by busymommy
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
I shook these in a gallon zip-loc bag with olive oil and kosher salt. I spread them evenly on baking sheets and flipped often. Occasionally the excess water from the squash would pool in the pans so I drained them once or twice during baking and I really think this helped cut down on the mushiness. They are softer than french fries, but mine were not really mushy. Delicious!! My kids liked these as well as the adults at my dinner tonight. I will make these again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
365 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by busymommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
This is an easy way to make an unhealthy favorite (French fries) easier on your waistline while incorporating a fun summer veggie onto your plate. To help them brown up, I sprayed them with butter flavor cooking spray and seasoned them with a low-salt grinding spice. Baked for an extra five minutes, and they were just fine! Definitely worth repeating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENWHITT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
These are so yummy....Microwave the squash for 3 minutes after piercing the skin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by palang

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bourbonnais, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
I tossed mine in olive oil first and needed to bake them more like 45 minutes. Also, I just cut mine into round pieces. It is way easier to cut. I just slice all the way down the squash...time saver. I will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
215 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
Definitely toss with olive oil/other to prevent from sticking. I used salt and pepper and tossed halfway through. Really good. something different!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickygloz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Saskatchewan, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
This was really good I've made it twice now for myself and will probably make it again. I tosed them in ovile oil and seasond them with pumpkim pie spice and salt they were yummy a little sweet and salty. When I slice up the squash I try to keep my fries thin I think it makes them better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
I cooked sweet potato fries with them and told my toddlers they were orange fries. We gobbled them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
Really, really tasty. I did what everyone did with the oil and cinn/cloves/salt & pepper. Don't use too much olive oil or they will be soggy and cut the squash thin to help keep them crisp. One squash wasn't enough! I ate it all myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
Cut circles like someone suggested. Mixed 1tblsp of coconut oil w/ cinn,cloves and sugar. Baked for 25 min. some got a little crispy, i think it would turn out crispy w/ less coconut oil and longer time. Delicious!! Great possibilities, tastes like pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bizzie

Displaying results 1-10 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cajun Fries

See how to make spicy, salty, slightly sweet baked squash fries.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States