Butternut Squash Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by busymommy
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
I shook these in a gallon zip-loc bag with olive oil and kosher salt. I spread them evenly on baking sheets and flipped often. Occasionally the excess water from the squash would pool in the pans so I drained them once or twice during baking and I really think this helped cut down on the mushiness. They are softer than french fries, but mine were not really mushy. Delicious!! My kids liked these as well as the adults at my dinner tonight. I will make these again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
368 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by busymommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
Really yummy! Like other reviewers, I coated the slices in olive oil, sprinkled with salt, pepper, cinnamon, a tiny bit of nutmeg. I also put the cookie sheet into the oven while it was pre-heating to warm up the pan, this helps the fries to be crispy, instead of soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
283 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amherst, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
I tossed mine in olive oil first and needed to bake them more like 45 minutes. Also, I just cut mine into round pieces. It is way easier to cut. I just slice all the way down the squash...time saver. I will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
223 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
I treated like we do zuchini or eggplant. salt them and put them on a papertowel and let the salt pull water from them...then oil, season and bake. HUGE difference and more like fries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
I could cry these are so good. My first experience with butternut squash and im hooked. I had no idea it would be so sweet and rich tasting. Thanks for the non-intimidating recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MisBeccaLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Slidell, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Portage, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
Actually I would rate 3 1/2 - it had GREAT flavor however I sliced thin like it some recommended for the same amount of time. It was browning nicely but was mushy 30+ min was up. To start I tossed in olive oil and flavored it like others recom. w/ cin, nutmeg and I added garlic salt...anyway since I didn't have "fries" I tossed it all in a dish and family ate it anyway - they loved the flavor. So I would have given it a 4 or 5 had it not been so mushy! :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
Toss the squash in a little olive oil first, they will be a lot tastier and not stick to the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
These are a great idea for kids and grown ups alike. I've been doing "faux fries" for awhile and have found that the best way to get that crispiness you are looking for is to first toss them in a small amount of evoo, cook them a little shorter time than called for, then broil them for the last 3-5 minutes. You'll have to experiment with the thickness you cut, the time you cook and your own oven temps, but a few times and you should find the right mix so that they come out soft on the inside and crispy out. I move alot, so I have to play with the mix with each new oven. Don't put too much oil on, it won't help! Also, don't crowd the pan or everything ends up getting steamed instead of "faux fried". Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fiona

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
I used butter spray first then seasoned with Mrs. Dash as I cook salt free. Yum. Even the kids liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Avon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
They were great! I also tossed them in olive oil first. And I seasoned with cinnamon, nutmeg, and ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cajun Fries

See how to make spicy, salty, slightly sweet baked squash fries.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States