Butternut Squash Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
This was one of my favorite winter recipes. Before baking, I put all of my squash sticks into a gallon-sized plastic bag and drizzle olive oil, cinnamon and nutmeg, and shake/mix until all are coated evenly. These taste like dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmiEmi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lebanon, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Mount Juliet, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
These sound yummy! After reading several reviews of them being mushy. I'm going to try baking them on the broil pan, that way they wont be sitting in the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
I love these...tons of fries and minimal calories. Variations I've tried: Olive oil and Cajun seasoning. Olive oil and Garlic salt, Cinnamon and Sugar...Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Newgolfer1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I didn't use olive oil, I used a fat free olive oil spray just so they wouldn't stick to pan but I think these are great all by themselves so the extra flavor from the olive oil masks the natural flavor. I think it tends to be a little on the mushy side and not be as crunchy when tossed in olive oil. But that's just me! These are amazing even without salt!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Was nervous but these were great! Sliced fairly thick and turned out tender and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dreygan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
These are very good. Make sure you slice them very thin to get a nice crunch. Very good with burgers or just as a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
The flavor was great, however the end result was very unlike a fry. No crispness or crunch. I tossed in olive oil and salt, then baked for 35 minutes total. Still not crispy like I wanted them to be. Would be a great component in another dish but not a stand-alone side for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eponaries

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clermont, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
If you want them crunchier, cut them thinner. I added cinnamon, nutmeg, and brown sugar as other comments suggested, but I found them to be too sweet. I even made a batch without the brown sugar, but they were still too sweet. I probably wont make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sobugg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Love them!! If you like sweet potato fries, these are a great substitute. I cut them thinner with a crinkle cutter and spray with cooking oil. We use garlic salt after they are done cooking. They are not crispy but I find if you cut them thinner they aren't as mushy. FYI - if you are on Weight Watchers, these are no points if you use the cooking spray!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Piscataway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
My husband and I liked these, but our children did not. I cooked them for 30 min then turned off the oven and left them in there for a while longer, but they were always a little mushy, even when the edges were crispy. I think that's just the nature of the squash (vs. potato). But the flavor was very good. I did toss them with olive oil first so they wouldn't stick to the pan (although they still stuck a little). thanks for the simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cajun Fries

See how to make spicy, salty, slightly sweet baked squash fries.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States