Butternut Squash Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Great sweet potato sub! Added cinnamon, a light sprinkle of ginger, and a smidget of cayenne. Took another reviewer's advice and put them in while the oven preheated. Perfect compliment to my kale chips! Also works well with frozen cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Akeakamai

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
these were great! I only gave it 4 starts because they were on the mushy side; couldn't pick them up and eat them like regular fries. I will try the suggestion of microwaving them and draining the extra liquid next time. adults & kids loved them; it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Makaha, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Good stuff. Husband liked it too, and he is a picky vegetable eater. They came out on the soft side but definitely not mushy. I was short on time so after tossing in the ziplok with olive oil and salt, I microwaved them for 5 minutes first (the effect of blanching) while my oven was preheating, then drained the liquid and tossed them in a paper towel to remove excess moisture. Then spread on a spray-oiled sheet and backed at recommended temp for about 25 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
These are a great idea for kids and grown ups alike. I've been doing "faux fries" for awhile and have found that the best way to get that crispiness you are looking for is to first toss them in a small amount of evoo, cook them a little shorter time than called for, then broil them for the last 3-5 minutes. You'll have to experiment with the thickness you cut, the time you cook and your own oven temps, but a few times and you should find the right mix so that they come out soft on the inside and crispy out. I move alot, so I have to play with the mix with each new oven. Don't put too much oil on, it won't help! Also, don't crowd the pan or everything ends up getting steamed instead of "faux fried". Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fiona

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sarah
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
I used acorn squash and sliced it thin. I sprinkled garlic salt on half and bacon salt (!!) on the other half. Came out crisp and delicious!! I found that half of a medium acorn squash sliced thinly covers a large baking sheet (single layer). I lined a baking sheet with a silicone mat and sprayed it with baking spray, laid out the squash slices and sprayed them with baking spray. Then I sprinkled garlic salt over them and flipped them over halfway through baking. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
Great flavor, could not get them to crisp up at all though. I will try them again. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by McBacon
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
My whole family loved these, even my picky toddler ate some! I wasn't sure if just salt would do the trick, but it did- these are delicious, my only complaint is that I didn't make more! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
I coated the fries in olive oil, salt, cinnamon and pepper and they turned out great! Make sure you cut them thick because they shrink up quite a bit. I used only the neck of the squash to make them all the same size and saved the curved part for my butternut soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QueenMacAnnie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
SPRAY YOUR PAN! Or coat the squash with some kind of oil first. I WILL TRY THIS AGAIN!! I just put mine on a non-stick pan and they just mushed when I tried to get them off. EXCELLENT FLAVOR!! Might try to deep fry them next time also. Thank you for sharing but you need to add the oil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sams girl
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
Delicious! Cut them on the thicker side so that they don't burn or get too wilted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cajun Fries

See how to make spicy, salty, slightly sweet baked squash fries.

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States