Butternut Squash Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
Great flavor, could not get them to crisp up at all though. I will try them again. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crunchy
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
My whole family loved these, even my picky toddler ate some! I wasn't sure if just salt would do the trick, but it did- these are delicious, my only complaint is that I didn't make more! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crunchy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
I coated the fries in olive oil, salt, cinnamon and pepper and they turned out great! Make sure you cut them thick because they shrink up quite a bit. I used only the neck of the squash to make them all the same size and saved the curved part for my butternut soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QueenMacAnnie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
SPRAY YOUR PAN! Or coat the squash with some kind of oil first. I WILL TRY THIS AGAIN!! I just put mine on a non-stick pan and they just mushed when I tried to get them off. EXCELLENT FLAVOR!! Might try to deep fry them next time also. Thank you for sharing but you need to add the oil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sams girl
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
Delicious! Cut them on the thicker side so that they don't burn or get too wilted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
Very tasty, although they are not crispy. My kids loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
I used pattypan squash with this since I don't have butternut squash right now. I also just sliced very thin and made what would probably be considered home fries. I couldn't find what I wanted for a plain pattypan squash recipe, and this hit the spot. I'll definitely try again with butternut squash cut like fries. I, too, used olive oil and chose to use kosher salt bc I like how it looks on fries. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
Delicious. Used a touch of olive oil to keep everything from sticking. They were crispy on the outside, and soft on the inside, similar to a steak fry. Dipped in a butter/brown sugar/vanilla sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHAEL JACKSON
Home Town: Gary, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
They were really good. I used a suggestion from a few other users and coated them with olive oil by shaking them in a large ziploc bag. Then I put the on a cookie sheet and sprinkled them with salt, cinnamon, nutmeg, and ginger. Very good. I made them with another recipe on this website, "Juicy Pork Chops." The chops called for broiling. The two recipes were great together. I baked the fries first, then changed the setting to broil and did the chops. It got me to thinking that the next time I make these squash fries, I may just broil them. They may crisp on the outside better that way. And it'll save a little time if I make them with the pork chops again. I can broil them together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shyla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rice Lake, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Onalaska, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
I love this! I just stumbled across this while looking for something else to make with squash. I make the fries and then serve them with feta cheese...sounds a little weird but I love the flavors together. It's a great snack or side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cajun Fries

See how to make spicy, salty, slightly sweet baked squash fries.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States