Butternut Squash Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
VERY tasty! I dipped them in sour cream, which complemented the sweet flavor of the squash nicely. This is a really fun concept, and I think that I will try it with other types of squash too. Thanks for a great recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Sharp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peotone, Illinois, USA
Living In: Manteno, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
These were so basic, but oh so good. The only thing that I did differently was to add a little cracked black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
This is a great use for butternut - I've made them twice so far and the first time they were fabulous, the second kinda eh but I think I did not bake them long enough. I was hungry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I tossed them in olive oil, cayenne, salt and pepper and cooked it. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calumet, Michigan, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
tasty! the crispy ones were better because im not a big fan of squash so when i got the squishier ones there was more of a stronger squash taste but overall really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Great sweet potato sub! Added cinnamon, a light sprinkle of ginger, and a smidget of cayenne. Took another reviewer's advice and put them in while the oven preheated. Perfect compliment to my kale chips! Also works well with frozen cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Akeakamai

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
these were great! I only gave it 4 starts because they were on the mushy side; couldn't pick them up and eat them like regular fries. I will try the suggestion of microwaving them and draining the extra liquid next time. adults & kids loved them; it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Makaha, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Good stuff. Husband liked it too, and he is a picky vegetable eater. They came out on the soft side but definitely not mushy. I was short on time so after tossing in the ziplok with olive oil and salt, I microwaved them for 5 minutes first (the effect of blanching) while my oven was preheating, then drained the liquid and tossed them in a paper towel to remove excess moisture. Then spread on a spray-oiled sheet and backed at recommended temp for about 25 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
These are a great idea for kids and grown ups alike. I've been doing "faux fries" for awhile and have found that the best way to get that crispiness you are looking for is to first toss them in a small amount of evoo, cook them a little shorter time than called for, then broil them for the last 3-5 minutes. You'll have to experiment with the thickness you cut, the time you cook and your own oven temps, but a few times and you should find the right mix so that they come out soft on the inside and crispy out. I move alot, so I have to play with the mix with each new oven. Don't put too much oil on, it won't help! Also, don't crowd the pan or everything ends up getting steamed instead of "faux fried". Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fiona

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sarah
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
I used acorn squash and sliced it thin. I sprinkled garlic salt on half and bacon salt (!!) on the other half. Came out crisp and delicious!! I found that half of a medium acorn squash sliced thinly covers a large baking sheet (single layer). I lined a baking sheet with a silicone mat and sprayed it with baking spray, laid out the squash slices and sprayed them with baking spray. Then I sprinkled garlic salt over them and flipped them over halfway through baking. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cajun Fries

See how to make spicy, salty, slightly sweet baked squash fries.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States