Butternut Squash Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
These were fantastic. Did them with sea salt and paprika. I couldn't stop eating them and I don't usually like squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
These were TERRIFIC as written...I tried adding spices other reviewers added, and they were also tasty that way...but they are truly good without olive oil, and with salt only...I used a potato peeler to remove the outer skin before slicing into fries...worked great! Thanks for this healthy way to enjoy fries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VJUNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Tried the recipe just as it is offered and it was very good. My first thoughts were to alter it exactly like the others did with olive oil but I resisted. JUST USE THE RECIPE LIKE ITS OFFERED....the oil makes them mushy and extracts the moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
We enjoyed this side dish, however I will follow other people's advice to heat the cookie sheet before putting the squash fries into the oven. They were a bit "wet" but very tasty. I also added a bit of olive oil to the mixture. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larababe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Not the crispiest fries you'll eat, but a great way for kiddies to east their squash! Tossed with EVOO and Kosher salt too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Micki B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Pattaya, Chon Buri, Thailand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
My 2 year old inhaled these! I put them under the broiler for a few minutes at the end to crisp them up a bit. I think no matter what you do they'll always be a little soft but they're delish and good for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SYDLY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Good recipe, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newburg, Maryland, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Wow on the deliciousness factor! I followed others' advice to toss in a 1 gallon bag with olive oil & kosher salt, but added allspice instead of ginger/cinnamon/etc. b/c those are allergens for us, and allspice is a great substitute. Mine went about 25 minutes total & turned out VERY mushy, so that removing them from the sheet meant I was practically turning them into mashed squash instead of fries. I'll have to work on lowering the amount of oil next time to avoid soaking them to this level of mush--but still YUM!! Just eat 'em with a fork...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisandreasings

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Avon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
I followed the advice of previous posts (olive oil/salt/cinnamon in a ziploc bag, pooling out access liquid during baking, leaving the sheet in the oven while it preheats), but I still ended up with soggy fries. Maybe too much olive oil? The flavors were awesome though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
really didn't like these at all. sorry to be such a downer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caitjane1

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Coronado, California, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cajun Fries

See how to make spicy, salty, slightly sweet baked squash fries.

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States