Butternut Squash Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Very good! Even my doubtful 11 year old son enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
I used some olive oil, salt, roasted garlic and tossed. I used a broiler pan so the liquid would fall through the holes. They were tender in about 30 minutes, but I couldn't seem to get them crispy. They still taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Very good, I do the same with sweet potatoes too and they turn out delicious. I do bake them a little longer to make them crispier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Prescott Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
mushy. had to cook for about 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peggytate

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
I loved these but did them up old school but deep frying them in Canola oil and then when they came out crispy, I sprinkled them with salt, cayenne pepper, garlic powder and curry powder. They were and awesome side dish to the grilled chicken sandwiches I made that night! I realize they were a bit more fattening deep fried but not as much as standard french fries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Inga

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mount Horeb, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
these were great! I'd done this with sweet potatoes before but not butternut squash! I too basted it lightly with olive oil and sprinkled a mix of cinnamon, a tiny bit of nutmeg, salt and some pepper. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
These were very tasty, but they never got crispy like french fries. After an hour, we ate them as they were, and they were still yummy, but I was expecting a more french fry texture. It was also a LOT OF WORK to peel and cut the squash this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
tossed in olive oil and kosher salt - yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Fantastic. My husband is not a veggie fan but he liked these. I agree, using the olive oil and salt works well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
The timing seemed to be way off. I cooked these for 55 minutes, and they still never got crispy, more like chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cajun Fries

See how to make spicy, salty, slightly sweet baked squash fries.

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States