Butternut Squash Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
What a nice change from the usual enchilada! I made 2 minor changes, I subbed parmesan for the cotija and I omitted the cilantro garnish. This was a light but filling recipe that I expect to use often. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This recipe sounded like a good idea, but after making it I have to say it was surprisingly delicious. Unfortunately the local grocer didn't have butternut squash in stock so I used a whole organic acorn squash (it was smaller than conventionally raised). The amount of garlic and onion seemed small so I minced 1 additional clove of garlic and probably another 1/4 c of onion. I also substituted grated vegan "monterey jack" cheese for the goat cheese. Usually I don't purchase or eat dairy products but I think the cotija cheese is essential for it's salty flavor- I probably put on closer to 1/2 a cup over the top. I rolled the enchiladas and put them in a baking dish instead of baking and layering the tortillas (ended up using 7 large corn tortillas). I may have used extra enchilada sauce- I just poured it over the top until everything was covered. I baked them at 350F instead of 400F for about 20 minutes, and they came out perfect. My boyfriend said he wouldn't have noticed that they didn't have meat if he didn't know because they just tasted like delicious enchiladas. Our meat-eating roommates tasted and enjoyed it as well. If you enjoy spicy foods you may want to add some hot sauce or diced jalapenos to the squash mixture, but although we usually like our food spicy the lack of capsicum didn't result in a bland dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
This is a delicious combination of flavors. The goat cheese and butternut squash complement each other beautifully. Stacked enchiladas are typical of New Mexican style, except the tortillas are lightly fried or warmed in a skillet rather than baked, and then dipped in red chile sauce (not enchilada sauce) before being assembled. I made mine this way, and they came out great. Next time, I'll add more spinach and goat cheese. I can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Made this for my vegetarian son between college classes and his jobs. He loved it. Will be making again soon for the whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terriyaki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marysville, Washington, USA
Living In: Shoreline, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
I was skeptical when I read the recipe but I had tons of squash I needed to use. THIS WAS SOOOOOOOOOOO good. I cannot even tell you how good this is
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Excellent! I know the restaurant, and it IS just like their version. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kala

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Coon Valley, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
These are excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Not very impressed. BLAND to say the least. Not enough texture, couldn't taste the sun dried tomatoes at all and cheeses added nothing. IF I made this again I would add more garlic, a couple peppers(jalepeno) and some other spices. Rated this a three only for the healthy factor but the time involved was not worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
I thought these were pretty good. We used wheat tortillas instead of corn (heated in the preheated oven for 30 seconds each), and subbed one fresh roma tomato for sundried tomatoes because they were so expensive. We also subbed shredded Mozzarella cheese for cojita. I also added a bit of curry powder and dried cilantro to the onion while sauteing. We all liked these but thought it could use more of a kick (like more curry powder or red pepper flakes), and thought it was important to use fresh cilantro and not replace with the dried spice like we did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Victor, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
We made a vegan version of these by omitting the cheese and using Tofutti sour cream. They were excellent! My only problem -- I followed the directions with the tortillas, but my corn tortillas were very tough and chewy. Any advice on how to make them more crispy? Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ORtrillium

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Butternut Squash Pizzas with Rosemary

These individual pizzas put a tasty twist on pizza night.

Butternut Squash Lasagna

Pair this rich, easy lasagna with a crunchy kale salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States