Butternut Squash Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I did change a few things. First, I used 3.5 cups of spinache and second, I substituted feta because I didn't have goat cheese or cotija cheese. I sprinkled a little bit of feta inside before I baked them. I also made my own enchilada sauce because I was out of that too! I recommend using chopped itallian tomatoes, 2 tsp of cummin, onion powder, garlis salt and peper. Season to taste. Roll your enchilladas in a small rectangular baking pan, pour the enchilada sauce over the top and sprinkle with cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
What a great recipe. I was trying to cut the calories a bit so I used Lavash instead of the tortilla. I also added mushrooms to the onion/garlic and I did not use the enchilada sauce. After I baked it I put shredded lettuce, tomato and onion on the top. I put extra feta cheese and chunky hot sauce on the table for those who wanted it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Not very impressed. BLAND to say the least. Not enough texture, couldn't taste the sun dried tomatoes at all and cheeses added nothing. IF I made this again I would add more garlic, a couple peppers(jalepeno) and some other spices. Rated this a three only for the healthy factor but the time involved was not worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
I'm always looking for ways to use butternut squash, and this recipe was real winner! I love the goat cheese in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookieEater

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
Interesting. If I make it again, I'll double the cheese and probably roast the squash for a nuttier and richer flavor. My lunch box was certainly the envy of all at work when I warmed up the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rebeccahelen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Miller, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
It was good- I thought it was lacking in texture and too bland for my taste. Decent meal if you are looking for something different- but not spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
This is a great recipe! I love the combination of the cheeses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bothell, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
We made the squash/spinach mixture but assembled 'tostada' style. We fried the tortilla (whole) and spread a layer of the spinach/squash mixture, then crumbled on some goat cheese and some shredded mozzarella (no cojita). We got store-bought enchilada sauce and did not like it AT ALL, so instead we put on some fresh made salsa. Really tasty! Great combination of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Being mexican, I seriously had my doubts about this recipe. What came out was simply amazing! I will be sure to serve this at the potlucks coming up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
I thought these were pretty good. We used wheat tortillas instead of corn (heated in the preheated oven for 30 seconds each), and subbed one fresh roma tomato for sundried tomatoes because they were so expensive. We also subbed shredded Mozzarella cheese for cojita. I also added a bit of curry powder and dried cilantro to the onion while sauteing. We all liked these but thought it could use more of a kick (like more curry powder or red pepper flakes), and thought it was important to use fresh cilantro and not replace with the dried spice like we did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Victor, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Butternut Squash Pizzas with Rosemary

These individual pizzas put a tasty twist on pizza night.

Butternut Squash Lasagna

Pair this rich, easy lasagna with a crunchy kale salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States