Butternut Squash Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Even our picky 11-year-old loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James A. White

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
This was fun! As a leaping-off point for ingredients I needed to use, it was perfect. Flour tortillas, done casserole style. Had to use a sugar pumpkin; roasted it in the oven. Extra onion, garlic, and added 2 chilis in adobo as others suggested. Had spinach but decided to use the kale I had instead -- love the way kale keeps its body. And unfortunately only had green enchilada sauce in the pantry, but it went with the pumpkin SO well! Hope you all try it and make it your own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Wow, this is delicious! Instead of doing the crunchy tortillas, I made it like regular enchiladas, rolled up and covered in sauce then sprinkled with cheese. Parmesan works if you don't have cotija.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
I was skeptical when I read the recipe but I had tons of squash I needed to use. THIS WAS SOOOOOOOOOOO good. I cannot even tell you how good this is
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
We made a vegan version of these by omitting the cheese and using Tofutti sour cream. They were excellent! My only problem -- I followed the directions with the tortillas, but my corn tortillas were very tough and chewy. Any advice on how to make them more crispy? Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ORtrillium

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Made this for my vegetarian son between college classes and his jobs. He loved it. Will be making again soon for the whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terriyaki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marysville, Washington, USA
Living In: Shoreline, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This recipe sounded like a good idea, but after making it I have to say it was surprisingly delicious. Unfortunately the local grocer didn't have butternut squash in stock so I used a whole organic acorn squash (it was smaller than conventionally raised). The amount of garlic and onion seemed small so I minced 1 additional clove of garlic and probably another 1/4 c of onion. I also substituted grated vegan "monterey jack" cheese for the goat cheese. Usually I don't purchase or eat dairy products but I think the cotija cheese is essential for it's salty flavor- I probably put on closer to 1/2 a cup over the top. I rolled the enchiladas and put them in a baking dish instead of baking and layering the tortillas (ended up using 7 large corn tortillas). I may have used extra enchilada sauce- I just poured it over the top until everything was covered. I baked them at 350F instead of 400F for about 20 minutes, and they came out perfect. My boyfriend said he wouldn't have noticed that they didn't have meat if he didn't know because they just tasted like delicious enchiladas. Our meat-eating roommates tasted and enjoyed it as well. If you enjoy spicy foods you may want to add some hot sauce or diced jalapenos to the squash mixture, but although we usually like our food spicy the lack of capsicum didn't result in a bland dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
These are excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Great recipe~ I replaced the butternut squash with spaghetti squash and it was still fantastic! I also used alot less cheese for a healthier version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngelaMarie-HOU

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dhourihan1
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This recipe was simple to make and was very good. The only step I skipped was baking the tortillas. I doubled the recipe which drove the cost of the dish to high for my budget so the next time I prepare I will use different Cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dhourihan1

Displaying results 21-30 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Butternut Squash Pizzas with Rosemary

These individual pizzas put a tasty twist on pizza night.

Butternut Squash Lasagna

Pair this rich, easy lasagna with a crunchy kale salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States