Butternut Squash Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
Had to make some variations based on what we had on hand: Substitutions: 4 flour tortillas instaed of 8 corn, 2 cloves garlic instead of 1, dandelion greens (from the back yard!) instead of spinach, mozzerella & cheddar cheese instead of goat & cotija, plain greek yogurt instead of sour cream. Omitted: tomatos & cilantro. Added: 1 can pinto beans. Different from anything we've ever had, but pretty good! Would've been better if hadn't burnt the tortillas. Even our picky toddler loved it. Was not very filling though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ndm726

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Eagan, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
A very unique but delicious flavor. Made these earlier this week using ingredients I had on hand - parmesan instead of cotija cheese, and feta in place of goat cheese (in limited amounts the tastes are supposed to be similar). Surprisingly, DH really loved these too! I could definitely get used to these, and plan on making them again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chewelah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
I really enjoyed making these enchiladas. I especially like the directions for cooking the squash first in the microwave. Made it so easy. Next time I might but a little bit of salsa or spices in the sour cream to give it a little more pep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
I think this would be so much better if the butternut squash was mashed and mixed into the spinach mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
My fiance thought these were amazing. I used 6 larger tortillas, 8 oz of sun dried tomatoes (wasn't sure how this compared to the 4 called for as I could only find them in weight), subbed parmesan for cotija cheese & used green enchilada sauce. I took other's advice and baked the squash first (45 min at 375 cut in half face down). My only change would be to use a bit less tomatoes (4-6 oz) and more goat cheese. Very different and a great way to use squash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Even our picky 11-year-old loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
This was fun! As a leaping-off point for ingredients I needed to use, it was perfect. Flour tortillas, done casserole style. Had to use a sugar pumpkin; roasted it in the oven. Extra onion, garlic, and added 2 chilis in adobo as others suggested. Had spinach but decided to use the kale I had instead -- love the way kale keeps its body. And unfortunately only had green enchilada sauce in the pantry, but it went with the pumpkin SO well! Hope you all try it and make it your own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Wow, this is delicious! Instead of doing the crunchy tortillas, I made it like regular enchiladas, rolled up and covered in sauce then sprinkled with cheese. Parmesan works if you don't have cotija.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
I was skeptical when I read the recipe but I had tons of squash I needed to use. THIS WAS SOOOOOOOOOOO good. I cannot even tell you how good this is
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
We made a vegan version of these by omitting the cheese and using Tofutti sour cream. They were excellent! My only problem -- I followed the directions with the tortillas, but my corn tortillas were very tough and chewy. Any advice on how to make them more crispy? Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ORtrillium

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Butternut Squash Pizzas with Rosemary

These individual pizzas put a tasty twist on pizza night.

Butternut Squash and Mascarpone Gnocchi

See how to make homemade gnocchi with butternut squash and mascarpone.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States