Butternut Squash Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
I made the filling with frozen spinach and 2 fresh tomatoes diced and folded in squash that I had roasted with a bit of ancho powder and garlic salt. I stuffed the filling into halved bell peppers and poured the enchilada sauce over top. Covered and baked. Only stuffed peppers my BF has ever liked and asked me to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
I was very excited to try these because I love butternut squash and it seemed like a wonderful idea to make enchiladas with them. But I really feel this recipe fell down in several areas (I followed the recipe as written except for leaving out the cotija cheese because I didn't want to buy some for just one recipe). The filling was severely lacking seasoning and needed a little more moisture. The way the tortillas were stacked and baked resulted in a dish that was difficult to cut and eat because the tortillas became dry and somewhat rubbery. The sauce ran everywhere and burned onto my pan instead of cooking with the enchiladas. I would make these again but with some pretty big changes: cube the squash, toss it lightly in olive oil and a good amount of salt & pepper, then roast it in the oven. Add in a few extra tomatoes and a little more spinach. Maybe even throw in some spices such as cumin or chili powder. Instead of stacking, put the filling inside the tortillas, roll them up, place in a glass pan, cover with enchilada sauce, then bake. I might also swap the goat cheese for cheddar, but really only to make it more appealing to my kids, who find goat cheese to be too strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
I wasn't sure whether I'd like a red or green sauce with these so I tried both and I can't choose, they're both so good with these enchiladas! I'm very happy I've tried these and will make them again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
Long been a fan of butternut squash in Mexican dishes - the use of both goat and cotija cheeses is downright inspired!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
Had butternut squash to use and found this recipe. I was skeptical but figured it'd be worth a try. I didn't want to take the time to do the tortilla stuff so I always just use the packaged tostada shells from the store (I know, they're not very healthy but they're a huge time saver). After making it a couple of times, I switched to no goat cheese and just sprinkle some shredded cheddar on top to melt. I made this recipe with pre-cooked spaghetti squash yesterday and everyone thought it was just about as good as the butternut. My whole family (me, husband and two twelve-year old boys) loves this, but we're not picky eaters. This has become one of our regular meals....thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I like to make the real recipe before giving a review. You can't go wrong with this one as is. Excellent! It is also a good jumping off point if you don't normally have some of the ingredients. I like to add black beans and a dash of cumin. I put the sour cream in the enchiladas, etc. Basically...don't be afraid even if you don't have everything perfect. It is a great recipe to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
I turn these into grilled stuffed burritos and sub salsa instead of enchilada sauce for dipping. Never would have thought of putting all these ingredients together but they are excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Different but ver good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
I harvested the squash from my garden and cooked as directed with the exception of cotija cheese. I used Tex Mex blend since I had it on hand and cotija was too pricey to buy for just one recipe. Surprisingly good. The spinach and sun dried tomatoes really add to this. Next time I will add jalapenos and make it in the true enchilada form where it is rolled and baked in a dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Butternut Squash Pizzas with Rosemary

These individual pizzas put a tasty twist on pizza night.

Butternut Squash Lasagna

Pair this rich, easy lasagna with a crunchy kale salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States