Butternut Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I made this recipe for Thanksgiving, and what a hit it was. I microwaved the squash for 5 min, and it was very easy to peel and cut. After boiling the squash for 15 min, I used a hand mixer to mash it. I modified the ingredients and mounts, as I didn't want a sweet vegetable. I omitted the white sugar, but added 1/3 cup of brown sugar. I drained the can of pineapple, and put the juice aside, as i didn't use it. I used less the amounts called for when adding the cinnamon, nutmeg, and vanilla.I omitted the nuts. I put it in the 2 qt casserole, and baked 40 min at 325. My family loved it, and I plan on making it for Christmas too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Tasty and a great meal for cooler nights
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat's

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woonsocket, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Great recipe! I did follow others' suggestions and drain the pineapple, as well as omit the white sugar. It was plenty sweet enough with just the brown sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
I agree with others and only used 1/8c of sugars and same with butter instead of margerine. I omitted the pineapple completely and decreased all other spices by 1/2 and it was still sweet and tasty enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Too much cinnamon or nutmeg. Rough texture. Omitted white sugar so it wasn't so sweet. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
My family LOVED this recipe! I have lost about 60 pounds by following a dietician's plan. To stick with the lifestyle changes I have made, I used some minor adjustments to make it healthier. I used natural applesauce instead of the butter, and omitted the white sugar. I reduced the packed brown sugar to 1/3 cup. With the pineapple and applesauce, we thought that the recipe had plenty of sweetness, but definitely less sugar and fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I brought this to a large outdoor Thanksgiving party - it was gone by the time I made it around the serving table. The little bit I was able to scrape up from the bottom of the pan was amazing....and everyone who tried it raved about it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tarzana, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
My favorite squash casserole and very easy to prepare. Minor changes: I only used the 1/2 cup brown sugar, not the white. I also drained the pineapple. And I always use sweet butter instead of margarine. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Skipped the White sugar as everyone called for. Definitely sweet enough without it!! My 3 year old could not get enough of it!!! Definitely a repeat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
This recipe was very good. I omitted the sugars and just used the pineapple to sweeten it. Having it for breakfast right now. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States