Butternut Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
I have twin toddlers, and anything I can do to get veggies in them is a plus! Sugar and butter considerations are set aside in an effort to just get them to eat veggies. They both love this stuff, and I'm happy they're getting all the goodness of butternut squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Delicious recipe. I reduced the white and brown sugar, and for the topping used real butter, organic honey graham crackers, 3/4 cup of rolled oats, and added 1/2 cup of pecans. Next time I make this I'm going to reduce the sugar even more and maybe add a dash of nutmeg and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Janzen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fair Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
this is awesome! It almost reminds me of a rice pudding consistancy. I made this for my husband, who doesn't like squash, and he really liked it. i will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
This is my favorite way to have butternut squash. My husband says this should be a dessert instead of a side dish. I use real butter instead of margarine, but leave the rest the same. I've also made this with buttercup squash and it is just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Henryville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Sellersburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
This tasted more like a dessert than a side dish! I didn't even use the topping, it was good enough as is. I also used about 3/4 cup of sugar, it was definitely sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
First time at bat with a butternut squash. Gotta say I was a little nervous, being the big hard mellon looking thing. My thoughts were eased when the aroma of the baking squash smacked me upside my head. Everybody lined up for 2nds on this one. I didn't do either topping to cut the cals. and didn't want it looking like a sweet potato casserole. Later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Absolutely delicious! I will make it again! I didn't have wafers so i crushed oatmeal honey bars and added crushed walnuts for the topping. It was so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I didn't care for this receipe... I thought there was way too much liquid. I didn't add all of it to the squash yet it still came out to this weird eggy texture. Also way to sweet for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
definently take advice of using half the sugar the recipe called for!!!! it is sweet with even 1/2 c sugar. I used splenda brown sugar blend for topping with plain graham crackers. Added cinnamon & nutmeg. Dinner guests thought it was delicious & it was a hit with these modifications. I really would not use 1 cup sugar. I also used frozen boxed squash that was already precooked & mashed (used 3 boxes). so much easier than making your own squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This is amaing recipe - I added cinnamon as recommended, & used Cinnamon Toast Crunch for the topping. Absolutely delicious! I will make again ASAP...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 380) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States