Butternut Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Hubby says this is like pie filling and kids think we're having dessert for dinner! Need I say more? I used 1/2 C sugar, added 1tsp Cinnamon and 1/2tsp Nutmeg for less sweetness, yet still sweet. For the topping, I used what cereal we had on hand: 1 1/2C Cheerios and Raisin Bran (w/o raisins) mixed with 1/4C brown sugar & 1/8C butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
So delicious! I was skeptical to try this at first - this was also my first time baking with squash. It tastes very similar to sweet potato. I followed the recipe exactly & it came out even better than expected. This is definitely more of a dessert dish, it is very sweet. The only thing I would do differently next time is try to do layers. A layer of squash on bottom, middle layer of brown sugar/cookie mix, another layer of squash & then a top layer of sugar/cookie mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I also made a few changes to this. I roasted the squash then scooped it out and put it in the blender with some condensed milk to make it mushy. I only used two egg and cocount flour to make it gluten free. I also added cinnamon to the recipe and didn't put a topping on it. My family loved it they didn't even know it was squash. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Agree with all the others... less sugar needed. I did 3/4 c white but should have done 1/2. also added 2 tsp cinnamon (only needed 1 likely) and 1 tsp nutmeg. Didn't have any ginger but see how that would have been nice. Topping turned out great: did 1/2 c brown sugar, 5 tbsp butter melted, 5 large graham crackers crumbled, ~1/3 c oats, ~1/3 c crushed pecan halves. Didn't even need the full final 15 min cooking (watch it closely was done at around 8 min). If you use whole milk watch the cooking time for the first 45 because it will likely be less. Definately more dessert like but we ate it as a side along with some simple chicken so it wasn't too overpowering to the overall meal. Not sure I'll make it again... if I want something this sweet I'll just do sweet potatoes. Was nice something different tho!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
this is so simple to make. and so very good . Everyone who says they don't like squash , will really like this . It is also easy to change it up abit to your own taste or to just make it a little different. Don't tell anyone what it is until after they have a taste . I have never had a complant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wavedancer

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
I don't understand what all the fuss is about. WAY too sweet for my tastes and I used about 1/2 the sugar that this recipe called for. If you like yams with little marshmellows at thanksgiving you will like this recipe, I however found it lacking. It badly needed a savory element. I ended up drowning in in goat cheese at the table but I would not make this again. There are too many other good ways to prepare butternut that allow the flavor to stand alone without drowning it in sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paulypfunk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
this was a big hit!!! a great fall side dish/dessert.. i made some modifications as per the other reviews...i put the squash in the oven 45mins @350, used only half the sugar (white&brown) used butter, & replaced the vanilla wafers with graham crackers. it was delicious!!! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M&MsMOMMA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Tried this exactly as written. Here are the changes I will make next time: Leave the squash at 3 cups, and use 1/4 all the other ingredients. Bake the squash for 1 hour, scoop out and mash. I also added 1 tsp each of cinnamon, nutmeg and ginger. This is very good, but don't think it needs to be that sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Red Oak, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
I've made this twice now, once for myself and my roommate and once for my family, both times it was downright excellent both as a dessert and as a breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
I have twin toddlers, and anything I can do to get veggies in them is a plus! Sugar and butter considerations are set aside in an effort to just get them to eat veggies. They both love this stuff, and I'm happy they're getting all the goodness of butternut squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 379) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States