Butternut Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
Can't believe I'd never tried butternut squash before (ever!) but they were half price in the supermarket, and I was intrigued. This was the RIGHT recipe to test my curiosity! YUM YUM YUM! I didn't add the topping (had no wafers or anything similar) but it was sweet enough. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
This was like pumpkin pie! So good and creamy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shepherdstown, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
yum yum yum, used butter instead of margarine. My son thinks it is desert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I made this as described except baked the squash first, as others suggested. My family thought it was delicious, but what wouldn't be with this much butter and sugar in it? The topping could have been less sweet. The squash itself wasn't too sweet...it had a custard taste, not much else...not pumpkin or sweet potato-like, as I would have thought. I would make this again, but next time I'll try reducing some of the sugar or just expect it to be dessert rather than a side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
Excellent. My husband was afraid to try it, but one taste and he was going back for seconds. I made one change, instead of this topping I used one from another recipe. I put new topping on and baked at 350 degree for about 45 - 50 minutes or until firm. Topping - 1/2 cup melted butter, 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1 cup coconut, 1 cup toasted almond slivers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Ohl
Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Have made this multiple times and is now a favorite with my family and friends. I too made a few changes - butter instead of margarine, baked instead of boiled squash and Ritz crackers for topping (gives a nice salty/sweet flavor)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Tried this on 2/24/12. Did make some modifications but only for convenience. Don't think it affected the results. Following another reviewer's (Tricky835) lead, I cut the squash in half, removed the seeds and baked it (cut side down) until it was soft. Used a potato masher instead of a blender and everything came out just great! Also, I added the cinnamon, nutmeg to the cooked squash. THE surprise of the event was the scrumptiousness of the topping. This will become a regular in our household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dick Cain

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
I really enjoyed this. Thank you for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ColleenK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Oak, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
This dish is like a little piece of heaven. We dont really have dessert during the holidays because everyone wants this instead. people will come back for thirds for sure!! I started using this recipe a few years ago. I am thankful i came across it. I had to search and search after my friend made something similar and refused to share her secret! I have made some changes to it like adding extra flour, extra vanilla, and extra vanilla wafers. I acrually crush more wafers really fine and add them into the squash mix. And i load it/layer it with extra wafer topping. Anyways it is a huge hit with my family and friends. Time consuming but the end result makes it worth while for sure! I even have some friends who pay me during the holidays to make large batches of it for their family dinners. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nai

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Spring Hill, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
We usually do a candied sweet potato casserole at Christmas but I happened to have a butternut squash handy, so I made this recipe. Everyone liked that it was something different, not quite as sweet as the sweet potato... the contrast of the sugar and the squash was really nice. I didn't have vanilla wafers so I ground up some Christmas cookies. :) This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 371) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States