Butternut Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
I use sweet potatoes instead of squash, just out of personal preference. There isn't a single person at the table (including picky kids) who don't love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith Allesi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Made for thanksgiving. This side dish was popular! Two changes I made. I used 1/2 c brown sugar only and halved the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I made this for Thanksgiving (with a few tweaks) and everyone loved it. I baked the butternut squash, sliced in half with the rind side up, as some other reviewers suggested. I just couldn't bring myself to add a whole cup of sugar, so after mixing all the other ingredients, I tasted it and decided to add 2 tablespoons and that was plenty. I didn't have vanilla cookies or wafers or any of the other suggestions for the topping. So, I used oatmeal instead and it tasted great. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Casserole is entirely too sweet. Next time I'll cut the sugar additive in half. Otherwise I like the tecture of the casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
It is pretty sweet but everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
This has been a requested favorite for over a decade in our house. I don't put the extra sugar in the topping, as the wafers make it sweet enough for our tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMS822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
This recipe was soo good, it is more a dessert than a side dish. I cut the sugar, omitted the vanilla wafers and used a smaller pan as suggested from the reviews and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I did not do the topping and my squash measured only 2C (not 3)so I adjusted the other ingredients. I ended up reheating it for the next day and OMG it was almost like a desert. It tasted like a custard and my son's girlfriend said it reminded her of creme brulee. This is definitely one I will repeat!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Absolutely delicious! This is going on my menu for Thanksgiving this year:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Even the kids liked it. I used butter instead of margarine and omitted the brown sugar completely - was sweet enough. Next time, I'll probably just roast the squash first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 375) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States