Butternut Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I cut the sugars both in the dish and to go on top and it was much better the second time around. I also used a smaller casserole dish and it didn't seem as dry and gave it more of a squash feel than a dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I was hoping to find a recipe similar to something I had at a restaurant before. This was so, so close! I served this for some friends at Christmas time and it was a huge hit! Tasted fabulous! I also BAKED my squash instead of microwaving. The only thing I would change about this recipe is the topping. The restaurant version I had was a cake consistency, and this was more crunchy -- still delicious, though. Otherwise, this would be a perfect 5-Star rating from me. Preference aside, this is a fantastic recipe as-is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Deerfield Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
Delicious! I didn't have a lot of time so just sliced the squash in half and microwaved it until it was soft enough to scoop out of the shell. Also didn't have the vanilla wafers so I tried putting some corn flakes in it (we use these with our sweet potato casserole). I think it would have been better to have just used the butter and brown sugar. And yes, it was sweet, but my family likes sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I baked my squash first, the "skin' peeled right off and the squash carmelized on the baking sheet, bringing out the natural sweetness. Instead of milk I used a half cup of orange juice and cut the sugar to a quarter cup, then blended very well before adding the rest of the ingredients. For the topping I used oat flake cereal, crushed almonds and dried cranberries, using only half the brown sugar called for. Still very sweet, so I may cut down on the sugars even further this weekend for the family holiday get together. It is a wonderful pot luck dish as it is delicious piping hot, yet for the late arriving guests it's still tasty even though it has cooled down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
I did not enjoy this at all--I thought it was way too sweet (much more like a dessert than a side dish), and I didn't think the squash taste blended well with the other, more custard-like flavors of the rest of the ingredients. I might make this again, omitting the topping, sugar and vanilla and adding cheese or breadcrumbs instead for a savory casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
The best dish at the party. Bake in 8x8 or it is only one inch deep. You must cut the sugar in half ,and only make half of the topping called for. Everyone wanted to know who brought the squash casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myboysmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Key West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
This recipe was very good and I got alot of compliments. Although I found it to be a little sweet. I used only 1/2 cup of the white sugar and 1/2 cup of the brown sugar and that was plenty. I also used only 1/4 cup butter for the topping. I used crushed Ritz crackers instead of the vanilla wafers. I will make this again, but may add even less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Oh my golly!! This was FABULOUS!!! I followed the directions on the butternut squash for cooking it, as well as previous reviewers. I sliced the squash length wise, placed cut side down on a jelly roll pan and baked for approx 45 min. (it does take longer, but it is easier, and I was able to prepare my other dish while this was baking so it worked out nicely) Anyway, after it baked, I flipped the squash over and let it set for a little bit so it would cool a bit, and then I removed the skin. (it was very easy) I kind of thought that the topping would taste fine with out the vanilla waffers so I just used brown sugar and some butter to make a crumble topping. It was so good, and it was the very first thing gone!!! I love when that happens!!! Everyone was raving about the butternut squash casserole and it is now a requirement that I make it every year from here on out! Fine with me, b/c ALL of the ingredients (besides the squash itself) are all ingredients that I have on hand at all times. So it's not only inexpensive, it's actually convenient! My husband was very against me making this b/c he wanted something he knew he'd love... He took one bite, got out of his seat to come and find me to tell me how AWESOME this was and he couldn't believe he liked it so much... so that says a lot right there! He loved it enough to stop eating to come and tell me that! Thank you so much for sharing... this is such a wonderful dish that is a little out of the ordinary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I've made this for an annual cub scout banquet, and people remember it and ask me if I've brought it again. My family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
This is the squash version of the sweet potato casserole our family always eats for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsjoedo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rutland, Vermont, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 364) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States