Butternut Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
This is really delicious. Definitely like dessert. I have made several times. I always bake the squash. Also I put the topping ingredients in the food processor and it carmelizes nicely, makes it a little like a creme brulee topping if you broil for a couple of minutes. Also, mix eggs first and let squash cool to avoid have cooked eggs streaming thru custard center. I find butter to be slightly more delicious. Fabulous! Pleases even my impossible to please Aunt! Thank you for wonderful family recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
My husband hates squash, but loved this dish. My kids also gobbled it up. I didn't have any vanilla wafers, so I used graham crackers for the top instead and it still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Was really good.. but i did alter the original recipe. I wanted to make it as a side dish and instinctively knew that 1 cup of sugar would make it more like a dessert. That being said I used 1/4 cup of sugar (i used sugar in the raw) and only 1 cup of milk (i used unsweetened vanilla almond milk). This cut back on calories and fat. I did not have margarine so i did use butter and I used basic graham crackers 1/4 cup of butter and 1/2 cup of brown sugar for the topping. The end result was more like a custard and worked well as a side dish. It was still sweet, just not overpowering sweet. My kids GOBBLED IT UP!! A testimony to the squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hackettstown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Yummy-yummy for the tummy! This is one of those recipes you never let go of!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yumm's_the_word

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
This was really good however the brown sugar/ butter glaze that I used for the top made the texture like soggy cornbread. I didn't add the 1c of white sugar but instead used about 1/4c of brown sugar, the flavor was impeccable! I think that I used to much butter for the glaze as it wasn't crumbly but more like caramel. Next time I won't even use the glaze but will try some marshmallows instead! I did double it and it filled a 9x13. It looked like a yummy pan of cornbread when it was done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Osceola, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
I love this casserole, I've made it at least 5 times. The recipe as-is is a great dessert, but to use it as a side dish I reduced the sugar in the actual dish to 1/4 cup and I used crushed up Fiber One cereal in the topping instead of the cookies. I reduced both the sugar and the butter in the topping. I think it's too thin in the 13x9 pan so I use an 8x8 dish and it's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Very good, but takes a long time to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
I wish I could rate this more than 5 stars! My family LOVED it. It was my first time using butternut squash, but won't be my last. I only substituted the margarine with butter and glad I did. I used an 8x8 pan which yielded a much thicker custard. On other suggestions, as well as my 11 year old, I will try some cinnamon and nutmeg next time (which will be really soon).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montclair, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Newark, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
This is a delicious recipe. I used a small squash that made about 1 cup cooked mashed. I used 1/3 the amounts of the other ingredients and honey graham crackers instead of vanilla wafers (grandkids ate the cookies). The family thought I had given them dessert with dinner! We WILL be adding this to the Thanksgiving menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
This was an excellent recipe. I also baked it in a smaller dish, for the recalculated version, and it was great! Its had a sweet taste and yet it was a veggie! Great for the kids. I shared it with a few ladies from my church who also enjoyed it. I will defenitly make it again, probably a Thanksgiving dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 381) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States