Butternut Squash Cajun Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
stunned how much I like these - and how different they are than any other squash recipe we've tried - we cut our squash more in cubes, which worked well too....... (actually, I usually clean, peel, and chop up several butternut squashes at once and freeze them - and that's what I used - and I'd simply cubed those..., so while I was a little dubious, I was pleased, oh yes, so very pleased with the results), can't say they got crispy, but I didn't miss the crisp....... the yum and spice was plenty good enough as is.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
So simple I'm kicking myself for never thinking to make "fries" from butternut. I upped the Cajun seasoning a bit and served with a tabasco spiked tarter sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Okay, not bad, but not something I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Titusville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Make as described, they are soooo good! (btw, 60 cal per cup)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Personally I loved them, DH not so much, so the left-over made a yummy soup for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love to cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
Definitely an interesting take on butternut squash, its nice to mix it up from the butter and sugar heavy alternatives you see more frequently. I will definitely make again, though next time I think I need a better cajun spice. Tried to assemble my own from a recipe here and I think it was a little black pepper heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saco, Maine, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
love these...great alternative for fries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tclary2
Home Town: Shelby, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Something different from sweet potato fries. Like the flavour! Thank you for another interesting way to have fries without potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
I hate to give this such a low review, but it was not well received at our table, at all. The spice was too much (and I love spicy), some "fries" turned black, but they still were not crunchy. I followed the tips of some reviewers to dry them on a rack, as well as cooked them on the rack to allow the air to circulate to crisp them up. While I did not feel they were horrendous, my family did. I ate as many as I could and the rest went in the trash. Unfortunately, I was trying to surprise my husband who loves butternut squash and has been requesting some lately. He was sadly disappointed when he tried these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Converse, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
These were fantastically delicious! Like a few other reviewers, I found them to be a bit soggy, even when cut thin, so I'm planning to experiment with baking them longer at a much lower temperature to partially dehydrate them before baking them at 450. The taste is completely worth the trial and error though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cherryarachnid

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cajun Fries

See how to make spicy, salty, slightly sweet baked squash fries.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States