Butternut Squash Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2002
Delicious recipe for a cold day. This was not a difficult recipe, but it involves lots of chopping. The butternut squash is hard to cut and skin, but it was worth it. I added some chopped smoked ham at the end of the recipe which gave the soup a burst of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
I loved it-a little heavy because of all the oil, but it was a hit on Thanksgiving!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
A great flavorful soup! Next time, however, I will use half and half with the same amount of heavy cream to dilute the base more. (I don't usually measure so I may have used more than the 4 cups of squash the recipe called for. It turned out quite thick.) I served this with lean pork, San Francisco veggies and a green leaf salad with Parmesan cheese. Very, very elegant dinner with no fuss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEANDMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2003
Holy Harvest, this was great! I would give this six stars if I could. The previous reviewer was correct - this is a very elegant dish. Easy too. Used fat-free half and half and chicken broth. Tried it on company without testing it first and we all loved it. Next time I'll toss some chopped avocado on top before serving. Sure glad I have more squash in the garden!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2003
I was very reluctant to try butternut squash soup, but I was pleasantly surprised. I did not add the cream but did add a little skim milk to thin out the bisque. I also added a little cayenne and more nutmeg than the recipe called for. To cook the butternut squash, I followed other reviewers’ suggestions: I sliced the squash, removed the seeds, and placed it face down in a casserole dish. Added 1 inch of water covered with aluminum foil, and baked in a preheated 375* oven for about 30 minutes (feel for softness). The softer, the better! This is a great fall recipe and I’m sure it would be even better with the cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2003
We loved this simple yet elegant soup. I baked the squash and added it after the onion and carrot were tender. I'm planning on using this to start Thanksgiving dinner. It would also go well with a fall meal featuring pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2003
very easy, elegant, yummy. i only had plain yogurt on hand, so i substituted that for the heavy cream. also added a bit of chopped, smoked ham. i need to make this for friends...i have no doubt that they will love it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EAUBELLE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2003
Beautiful dish! I don't think the cream (or some dairy product) should be optional. Without it, you have tasty baby food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2003
After alot of ajustments this came out pretty good. Used 1/2 cup canned pumpkin in lieu of carrots (did not have any carrots),baked squash and scooped out---no chopping. Used 4 cups chicken stock, 1 cup 1/2 & 1/2 in lieu of heavy cream, 1/2 t marjoran, 1/2 t nutmeg and generous salt and pepper.Can only imagine how bland this recipe would be without these ajustments. Will serve this tommorrow as "Jacko Lantern Soup"---eeeek! Happy Halloween.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2003
This soup is totally fabulous. It is comforting and filling and even tastier the next day. I'm making a huge batch to freeze for winter dinners. try adding a dash of cayenne or curry powderfor some more depth of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 577) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States