Butternut Squash Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Fantastic! Read others reviews first and added a whole sliced golden delicious apple (with the peel) with the carrots. Used two butternut squashes and probably double the carrots it called for (I was doubling and then adding more). Used chicken stock, added minced garlic, ginger and fat free half and half in place of cream. loved it. will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Loved this! I also roasted the squash before the rest of the steps and I added a bit of garlic and a bay leaf and left out the nutmeg. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Malena

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
This was so delicious! I roasted the squash before, as others suggested, and used one can of chicken broth & half a can of vegetable broth. I used the heavy cream, too. I still felt like it could use something else, so I added a pinch of allspice in the end - I recommend it! The allspice pulled it all together and made the flavors pop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Harte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henley, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
this was okay, but i found the carrot overpowering. i already love the carrot ginger soup on this site, and was looking for something different. also -- definitely add a dollop of sour cream. brings out all the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bumpass, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cottonwood, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Made this for the first time tonight and it's just wonderful. I did make a few adjustments to make sure it wasn't bland (added a diced jalapeno & a little ginger), didn't bother with the cream but added a dollop of sour cream to my bowl...YUM! Can't wait to have some more tomorrow! Thanks so much for sharing. (OH, definitely cook the squash first - I pierced it and put it in the oven at 350 for @40min and it was so easy to manage)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
I’ve made several recipes for butternut squash soup and this recipe was the least complex. I expected we’d like it, but I was surprised we all loved it. I used roasted butternut squash that I had grown in my garden, freshly grated nutmeg, and my homemade chicken broth instead of the vegetable broth just because I prefer the richness of the chicken broth in the bisque. Simple basic flavors that were perfect. I may add a granny smith apple the next time just as a personal preference but it is perfectly wonderful without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
This was awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jase

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hastings, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Stillwater, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
This was excellent! Everyone who has tried it says that it tastes like its resturant quality. The only seasoning I added in addition to what is required was a bit of garlic powder and all spice. The heavy cream really finishes the bisque nicely. It makes it very rich and silky. Keeping this recipe for sure and will be making it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by librachic17

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chantilly, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Made it twice & a hit both times! The second time I wanted it a little more savory (served as a starter at Thanksgiving), so I added fresh thyme & garlic. Still sweet, but really nice. I really didn't have trouble peeling it the 1st time, but I cut it in half & roasted it in the oven this time, which got some nice carmelization going. My 2 yr old son loves it as much as we do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Jackson, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
I roasted the squash in the oven first. I only added enough nutmeg to enhance the soup's flavor, not to give it a nutmeg taste. Used chicken stock because that's what I keep in my kitchen, but I will make a vegetable stock for this next time because I think it would taste better. Also only added a splash or so of the cream. VERY tasty. I will absolutely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 564) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States