Butternut Squash Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
I made this for a friend that cannot have any gluten or dairy. I didn't use any butter or cream. It turned out amazing! My husband want me to make it all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Didn't change much in this. I always have squash roasted and frozen from fall harvesting, so I simple use what I have stored in the deep freeze. It makes making this so lightening fast. I use vegetable Better Than Bouillon for the broth. It has such a nice flavor in soups. I do use 1/2 and 1/2 to save a few calories:) We really enjoy this soup, and don't find it bland at all. I even forget the nutmeg all the time. Oh! well never missed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chickadee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beloit, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
An easy soup if you make as directed by keeping it simple and cook the squash first.Next time perhaps I will use something more healthy then heavy cream.I am trying to eat better, staying away from Fast food and pizza joints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
It was a good start, but it definitely needed something. I added mushrooms and a jalapeno. Perhaps the original recipe is based on a really flavorful veggie broth that didn't require much else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
This is a great recipe. I roast the squash first as others have recommended. I freeze half for a later day & it's still yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
The only thing I changed was to add a bit of garlic and a cinnamon stick and it was delicious. Everybody loved it. Luckily my grocery store sells the squash already cut up for about $3.00 a pound. Totally worth it to save the time and trouble of cutting it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri Justice

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
We substituted buttercup squash for the butternut (it's what we had), added grated fresh ginger and fresh garlic. We left out the cream, but added a little half and half in each bowl when serving--just a pretty swirl. It was absolutely delicious. I am making it again already b/c I have guests coming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
I really liked this recipe. The carrots added a nice texture and consistency to the bisque. I used an immersion blender which worked wonders and saved dirtying up my food processor. The only thing I may try next time is adding some cream cheese to make it creamier, but overall I enjoyed the true taste of butternut squash more than anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Union Mills, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
not a fan. very bland and had the taste and texture of baby food. probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
Good, thick, but a tad too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duncan, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 583) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States