Butternut Squash Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
Great recipe! I agree roast the squash first and instead of heavy cream add some smoked gouda cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
I like this. I have never made a bisque before. I baked the butternut squash first like the most helpful review said. I added garlic when cooking the onions. I did not use heavy cream, but instead used a little bit of light sour cream. I put a teaspoon of pepper in which was a bit too much, but the kick is nice. This was way easier than I thought it was going to be. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Orange Grove, Texas, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Love it! I always leave out the heavy creme and nutmeg and it's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
I've recently started enjoying bisque, especially butternut squash, at restaurants. This was my first attempt and it was without a doubt the best I have ever had! So easy, so creamy, so flavorful! Like a fine wine, there were layers of flavor, especially the onion. I have so many new favorites because of this website and this is definitely one of them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chas
Living In: Spencer, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I loved it! I am a beginner cook and found this recipe easy to follow.I added some fresh basil and parsley for flavor. And I'm not sure if the squash were just small but it took about 2 and 1/2 to make four cups. PS definitely bake the squash first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Just made this tonight. It was wonderful! I had never had butternut squash before and I am so happy that I tried this. I did roast squash first as recommended and it was very easy. The peeling part wasn't, but I will figure that out. There has to be an easier way, regardless, I loved this and can't wait to have it for lunch again tomorrow! Thank you for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I used purchased cubed butternut squash from the supermarket so this was very quick to put together. I added 1 inch of fresh ginger to the blender; it adds a nice kick. I added some potatoes instead of the cream for a nice vegan version of this recipe. I shared some with a sick friend and she loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I followed it exactly as it was listed and it is delicious! I think cooking the squash in the broth instead of cooking it in the oven adds flavor because it gets to simmer in the seasonings. It is a little difficult to peel it, but it was totally worth it in the end. A little tip is to slice the skin with a sharp knife on a cutting board because it goes faster than a peeler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I loved this soup! I am on Weight Watchers and could not believe the nutrition facts about this soup. I modified the recipe by making my own vegetable stock (no salt). That is the only modification I made and according to WW, the soup is 8 pts TOTAL, for the entire batch! I even added regular half and half. The homemade stock and pre-roasting the squash before hand was key. I did add a dash of sea salt to my bowl at the end. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Easy and good. I subbed curry powder for nutmeg and added a small pinch of rosemary. I also did the roast-the-squash-first trick in the microwave. My 2+ lb squash needed about 15 mins in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 564) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States