Butternut Squash Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
The only thing I changed was to add a bit of garlic and a cinnamon stick and it was delicious. Everybody loved it. Luckily my grocery store sells the squash already cut up for about $3.00 a pound. Totally worth it to save the time and trouble of cutting it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
We substituted buttercup squash for the butternut (it's what we had), added grated fresh ginger and fresh garlic. We left out the cream, but added a little half and half in each bowl when serving--just a pretty swirl. It was absolutely delicious. I am making it again already b/c I have guests coming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
I really liked this recipe. The carrots added a nice texture and consistency to the bisque. I used an immersion blender which worked wonders and saved dirtying up my food processor. The only thing I may try next time is adding some cream cheese to make it creamier, but overall I enjoyed the true taste of butternut squash more than anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Union Mills, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
not a fan. very bland and had the taste and texture of baby food. probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
Good, thick, but a tad too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duncan, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
The nutmeg is very strong. Would not use more than a dash, literally. Otherwise, a good soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Easily adaptable to a vegan dish. Since I am the only one in my family who likes squash and soups, I halved this recipe and made it in a 3 1/2 qt. slow cooker on low for 6 hrs. To simplify the squash part, I bought it cubed in the freezer section, thawed it in the fridge overnight, then fried it in a skillet for a few minutes with about a Tbsp. (tablespoon) of vegan spread to give it enhanced flavor. I added about 1/2 c. celery and minced it in the food processor with the onion and carrot. I also added about 1 Tbsp. minced, jarred garlic since I love all the flavors together. I took previous reviewers' suggestions and peeled and cored a Granny Smith apple and ground that along with the above veggie mix. I skipped the cream since I'm trying to cut back on dairy and fat calories and used a vegan broth mix. I can tell this flavor will be great with some kale chips crushed and sprinkled on top. Freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mesa Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
I loved how simple this recipe was, it's a great starter and easy to adjust to make it exactly what you want. I followed the basic recipe, using homemade turkey stock and added what I needed of veggie stock to fill in the rest. I skinned the squash without roasting it, and added it to the 1 full onion and carrots that were already in the pot, then after everything cooked down I added the nutmeg, coriander, white pepper, salt and a little bit of black truffle oil. I also replaced the heavy cream with a couple Tbs of plain greek yogurt to cut back on the fat content. It turned out so well, and it's also easy to freeze so I can have a nice comfort food anytime I want. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emjackson81

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
I wasn't impressed. Followed the recipe to a T. I even had the Hubby help cut the squash. :-) It needed something still. I even added some cinnamon along with the nutmeg. I shall just keep on looking for that perfect butternut soup recipe. I shared with my Mom, who agreed that it needed something more. Thanks anyway Phonelady55
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tink

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2013
Amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 568) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States