Butternut Squash Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
This was awesome! I also used fat free half and half and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Very good. No need to add any salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gr8fulfan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Really good! I liked the addition of carrots-done this type of soup before but never with carrots. I roasted the squash first(you can use any similar flavored squashed, I had a random winter squash laying around). I sauteed the onion with garlic and the carrots first. Put them in with the squash and used my immersion blender the mush it all up. I used 4 cups vegetable stock and olive oil instead of canola. Lots of garlic powder, onion powder in addition to the other seasoning. The cream really puts the soup outta this world. Really good the days after too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
My husband and I LOVE this recipe...Although it takes a little longer I use a potato peeler to skin the squash, then cube it, seeds are easy to remove this way. I use 3 cloves of garlic - diced in place of the onion and olive oil instead of canola oil. I like to boil, then simmer the squash as directed because it seems to soak up all the flavors (and smells so wonderful)! It is a weekend thing for me due to the time it takes, but so worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
This soup is out of this world! I was suprised by all the super ratings and thought I'd give it a whirl. I added just a touch of nutmeg, which was perfectly suitable. I also added about 5 or 6 cups of squash because I had cooked it and didn't want it to go to waste. This made the soup a terrific texture and consistency. I would recommend adding more squash each time because of this. I ended up using half and half and it was superb! Truly a TEN star soup!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
so creamy without any dairy- I'm seriously amazed! very good, would consider doubling next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
A nice soup for a cold winter day (or anytime for that matter)! I'm rating four stars simply because it was a bit sweeter than I wanted. It wasn't overly sweet but if you're looking for a more savory soup, cut back on the carrots (use 1/2 cup), throw in a few cloves of garlic and use 1 cup of chicken stock with 2 cups of vegetable stock. Though if a mildly sweet soup is what you're after, you can't go wrong making the original recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kirbyville, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
WOWWEE!! I am addicted after just one bowl! (okay, maybe I had two or three bowls...) I had to change a few things based on what I had, but this is the best soup I have ever made!! I only used the 1 TBS canola oil, no butter. I used 1 TBS dried onion because I didn't have a fresh one. I used chicken broth because I had no veggie broth. I added a chopped gala apple with the carrots and I omitted the nutmeg. I cooked my squash in the microwave while the other stuff cooked in the pot. I had no heavy cream, but LOVED, LOVED, LOVED the soup without it. Thank you for a new lifetime favorite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
mmmm delish! i did take the suggestions from a few reviewers Roasted the squash made it much easier, and i also added garlic, onion powder, and a bay leaf. and instead of heavy cream i added some low fat cream cheese. It didn't need much of that anyways. delish all on it's own! Super easy as well! Thank you for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
This was so delicious! I roasted the squash in the oven as others suggested. I sauteed the onion along with minced garlic, shredded carrots and the seasonings to bring out the flavors more, then added the roasted squash to the mixture. I used organic veggie broth and since all I had on hand was evaporated milk, I used that in place of the cream, which worked wonderfully. I served the soup w/toasted ciabatta bread with melted havarti cheese - what a fabulous meal! My hubby and 19-year old son both raved about this soup...I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynne64

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

Displaying results 161-170 (of 572) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States