Butternut Squash Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
I had to make some changes due to not having everything in stock in my kitchen, but I think this would be great even as written! I used Olive oil and Smart Balance margarine instead of canola and butter; I didn't have squash, so I subbed 4 cups pumpkin puree that I had frozen from pumpkin pie season; instead of vegetable stock, I used 3 cups water with 3 beef bouillon cubes; I sauteed 1/2 a bag of matchstick carrots with the onion; and instead of cream, I used a few splashes of skim milk and a large spoonful of light sour cream. This was really good except that I couldn't get it completely smooth. It was still grainy, but delicious. I should invest in a sieve....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T Roos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Love this soup! I skip the stock and use all FF half and half. Never used a carrot, I use apple instead, sautéing it with the onion. I also roast the squash in halves, much easier. (about 1/2 hr or so at 400) Just pop in the stick blender and purée away. I spice mine with Ginger and white pepper. Then I get to take it to work for lunch all week. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I just made this soup tonight. I had a 1lb 4 oz box of cubed ready to eat butternut squash and needed something to do with it. I used olive oil instead of canola oil, it's healthier and creates a better flavor. I roasted the veggies before adding the stock. I didn't have vegetable stock so I used chicken stock instead. The only thing I would say to advise future cooks using this recipe is use a low sodium stock. If not, then taste it before you add any salt. They make those stocks with plenty of sodium so you probably won't need to add any. I also suggest not adding the cream to the whole pot but to the individual serving bowls. Your soup will keep longer in your fridge if you do this. In fine dining restaurants they pour the cream into the bowls and create designs, who would have thought that soup could be fancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Very good. Followed the recipe exactly just didn't add the cream. Easy, tasty and economical dinner. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
The carrots add a great dimension of flavor to the butternut squash. I barely used any cream, and it would taste great without it too. I added a dash of red pepper flakes and rosemary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Peeling and cubing a butternut squash is never an easy task, but trust me, you will be rewarded when you taste this bisque. I roasted the squash at 400F for about 45 minutes and used FF half and half. This is the first time I've ever cooked with vegetable stock (always use Kitchen Basics brand for stocks and broths). I had some chicken stock in the fridge, but I'm so glad I stuck to the recipe and used the vegetable stock. I really think it enhanced the flavor. This is a great bisque!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
This was awesome! I also used fat free half and half and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Very good. No need to add any salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gr8fulfan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Really good! I liked the addition of carrots-done this type of soup before but never with carrots. I roasted the squash first(you can use any similar flavored squashed, I had a random winter squash laying around). I sauteed the onion with garlic and the carrots first. Put them in with the squash and used my immersion blender the mush it all up. I used 4 cups vegetable stock and olive oil instead of canola. Lots of garlic powder, onion powder in addition to the other seasoning. The cream really puts the soup outta this world. Really good the days after too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
My husband and I LOVE this recipe...Although it takes a little longer I use a potato peeler to skin the squash, then cube it, seeds are easy to remove this way. I use 3 cloves of garlic - diced in place of the onion and olive oil instead of canola oil. I like to boil, then simmer the squash as directed because it seems to soak up all the flavors (and smells so wonderful)! It is a weekend thing for me due to the time it takes, but so worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 568) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States