Butternut Squash Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
I added a red apple (I'm not sure what type) and extra nutmeg and I added cinnamon. Some people loved it and some people hated it.. Cut back on the spices if some people don't like it too much. I also had no heavy cream on hand so I used whole milk and butter. It didn't compare. Iwould recommend using the heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
A decent base recipe, but it tasted a little thin on flavor when I tested it as is. I added a few extra ingredients to punch it up: 2 cloves garlic after the onions had turned translucent, and some thyme, sage, and a tiny bit of Chinese 5-spice mix. I omitted the cream. Garnished with toasted squash seeds. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I am a little baffled by the awesome reviews of this bisque. It was incredibly bland. I offered a toppings bar to my family but it had so little flavor that no one really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riz
Living In: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I made this for lunch. Although it was very tasty and easy to make it dirtys a lot of dishes. I roasted the squash as recommended by others but it was almost as hard to peel off the skin (and not lose a lot of squash) as it would have been if it was peeled raw. I did save on cutting though. I used 2 cups of chicken stock instead of vegetable stock because that is what I had on hand. Very good and think soup. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Very enjoyable, very fall. But also, very oniony. I would cut back on the onion by half. I also added a peeled/diced Braeburn apple when I added the carrots (wish I had added 2), and I roasted the squash for 30 minutes before adding it. Needs a generous sprinkle of nutmeg per bowl as well as mixed in while cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
This soup is AMAZING! We do nto add cream and still get the desired thickness/creaminess. I only use 3-4 cups chicken broth along with 3-4 large carrots and 1/2 onion. It's so good and we make this all Fall/Winter and with it being so low fat it's perfect! Toddler loves it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWIMYFISH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westlake Village, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Delicious! With recommendations from other reviewers, I also roasted my squash beforehand. I also added some cinnamon and roasted ginger, along with the nutmeg. And, I don't usually have cream around the house, so instead I substituted 1/2 cup of vanilla ice cream. Yum, I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Very tasty. Don't be afraid to pepper it up a bit, if you like things spicy. Great with a small dallop of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
I love bisque - this was easy to make and delicious! A great fall weather favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by busy mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Tastes way too much like chicken broth, and not like squash...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 571) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States