Butternut Squash Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Awesome! I added a clove of garlic and roasted the squash as other reviewers suggested. I also used a little fat-free half and half instead of the heavy cream before serving. It tasted great! We will definitely be keeping this recipe and making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
I use 3 carrots to one butternut squash, 2 qts. of chicken, not vegetable, stock and a full cup (or more to taste) of cream. I also use white pepper, not black - it gives great taste without showing. My family absolutely goes crazy for this soup and I make it every Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Great recipe.Thank you. I roasted the squash, carrots, and onions with minced garlic and a tablespoon of olive oil and just a touch of brown sugar for 45 minutes at 375 degrees. Then I threw it in the crock pot with the remaining ingredients. I substituted 4 cups of chicken broth instead of vegetable broth and 1 tablespoon of earth balance margarine instaed of butter and it turned out great. My huband and I both liked it and one of my three kids liked it too. 1 out of three ain't bad with my picky kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Wonderful recipe that's easy to follow and can be spiced as much or as little as you like. I followed it exactly and added a dollop of sour cream to each bowl as it was served. This was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
not good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Excellent cold-weather dish, except skip the nutmeg (it tends to overpower the other flavors). Be sure to fully sautee the onions so the onion taste stays mild. I use a microwave on the high setting for five minutes to soften the squash for easier peeling. Have Cayene powder available for those who want to "warm" it up a bit on their individual servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
This was really good. I subbed olive oil for the canola (I don't like to use Genetically Modified products and canola is usually GM) and coconut oil for the butter, since I was making this for a vegan friend. I did not microwave the squash since that takes so many nutrients out of the squash. I didn't have time to roast it in the oven, so I peeled it with a vegetable peeler, which worked really well. It *was* hard to chop, but not impossible. I took the advice of another reviewer and added a bay leaf, a dash of cayenne (not too much), and about 2 cloves minced garlic. The flavor was excellent and I did not feel the need to add anything else (I considered adding coconut milk instead of the cream but ended up just omitting them both). I'm not usually a huge fan of butternut squash soup, but I would make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
I liked this, and I made the stock using the Bramblett's Vegetable Stock recipe also on this site. I found the resulting texture to be similar to Canadian pea soup. I agree with another reviewer that if you are going to add the cream, to do so only when you're ready to serve so it will last longer in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
I roughly cut the onions into big chunks and then slightly carmelize the onions. Definitely roast the butternut squash and carrots before adding to the onions, then I carmelize a little bit more with the onions too. You can substitute the veggy broth with chicken broth also. And I put about an 1/8-1/4 teaspoon nutmeg only in the whole soup along with about the same amount of white pepper to add just a note of "pepperyness" to make it interesting. The cream is not necessary I find as it dulls the flavor of the squash, but to make it look pretty when I serve it I pipe in a swirl of plain yogurt and top off with a few sprigs of chives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 564) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States