Butternut Squash Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I made this in advance of the Thanksgiving dinner and found it to be bland. Having looked at some of the newer recipes on this soup, I took 1 cup of the "broth" before pureeing and cooked a diced Granny Smith in the microwave. I added to the soup pureed and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Ibbotson

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
I LOVE butternut squash soup and this is the best recipe I have found on here! I didn't follow the measurements very carefully, and also roasted the squash first but it still came out great. I will use this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Really yummy!! I doubled this recipe to make a big pot of it (about 7-8 cups of cubed squash). I used chicken stock instead, and light cream instead of heavy cream. Do watch out for the nutmeg. I read other reviewers' comments and didn't add too much nutmeg since it's a strong flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Soho
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Delicious! I too roasted the squash before I cooked it. I also added some cinnamon along with the nutmeg. This was so yummy and easy to make. I'll definitely be using this recipe all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Really yummy. I used homemade veg broth and just eyeballed amounts and it worked out great. Slammed it with pepper and extra fresh ground nutmeg to serve cuz they add a nice bite (my family loves pepper and some of my family doesn't like sour cream.) Could also use hot sauce or chipotle because they'll pair with the sweet quite well. I used a very high quality sour cream because why bother with the fat and calories unless it's worth it, right? I think it's important to use whole sour cream because the textural component completes the "mouth feel" for lack of a better phrase. Of course, whole greek yogurt will likely do very well also. Definitely very easy and you can impress guests with it also, while being somewhat healthy and given I have one vegetarian in the house, I don't have to make two meals. Served with bacon avocado sandwiches for the carnivores and a facon (Smart Bacon) avocado sandwich for the vegetarian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alpine, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
This recipe was amazingly easy and very good. I had a pre-Thanksgiving party with my family so I doubled the recipe. I took the suggestions of a few reviewers and roasted the squash and carrots with a little butter first, and I added a gala apple. Next time, I will take the suggestion of another reviewer, and find some that is already cut up (getting that sqash broken down was a true labor of love!). I used chicken broth because that's what I had on hand, but the squash still remained the star. I probably used a bit more seasoning that the recipe calls for and I also added a little cayenne pepper. The soup was great right after I made it, but the cream really kicked it up a notch. I made it the night before and then reheated it in my crockpot about 30 minutes before I was ready to serve it. I got rave reviews on it and served it with some roast chicken and baked potatoes. I think I will make this every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
I bought cubed butternut squash from the supermarket and nuked them for a few minutes and used EVOO instead of canola oil. I also sauteed the carrots first to soften them before throwing in the butternut squash. I think this recipe is good but my husband loved it. Something tasted a little off to me and I realized it was the nutmeg. I added skim milk and some cayenne pepper at the end which boosted the flavor. I wish I had taken people's advice and skipped the nutmeg altogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I really wish I could have tried this recipe as is, but I was making it for my boyfriend and he has gastric reflux disease so I had to doctor it significantly so that he could have it too. I made three cups of chicken broth with boullion cubes and brought it to a boil. I then added the carrots to that along with one pealed and sliced gala apple. While that was cooking, I baked the squash on 375 for 35 minutes, as was suggested by other reviewers. When it was done, I added it into the soup along with a 1/2 cup of brown sugar and blended all of it in the blender five minutes later. It turned out delicious--especially when I added dashes of cinnamon and nutmeg to mine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ponytail Goddess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Freeport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
5***** I added 1/2 a honey crisp apple & topped off our bowls with hot sauce - I used Cholula & my husband, Sri Racha. I also sauteed some garlic & ginger in with the onion, butter & oil. This is the 1st review I have ever written - I just had to write because it turned out so well. Definitely delicious & fancy enough to serve for company & super simple. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
This was fabulous and everyone raved about it! The only thing I would suggest is not to add nutmeg or seasonings until done--mine didn't need anything and it was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 581) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States