Butternut Squash Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Definitely roast squash first! I just prick mine with a fork and bake it until it is soft, then let it cool, slice it in half and scoop out seeds, then peel it. Time will vary depending on size of squash. You can also do this is the microwave, but it is not as easy to peel as the skin gets very soft. I make mine vegan by substituting vegan butter, no-chicken better than bouillon, and... here's the secret.... silken tofu at the end instead of cream! It adds protein as well as a nice creamy consistency. I also add garlic, and sometimes a sweet potato if my squash is small. My family LOVES this! It's also my go-to recipe for friends that are sick. It was the only thing that tasted good and could be kept down by a dear friend undergoing chemo. Plus it is healthy, gluten-free, vegan, and full of great vitamins as well as protein with the added tofu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodstock, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
This was delicious! Followed the recipe exactly, except: I added a clove of garlic to the onion, I added a 1/8 teaspoon of Cayenne Pepper, and I cut the heavy cream in 1/2. The nutmeg was "to taste" so I added a 1/8 teaspoon of that as well. Wonderful!! I think next time I can cut the cream even more (just to be healthier). Tip: Shoprite has the butternut squash already peeled and cubed....SO much easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
Delicious! I bought the pre-cut butternut squash to help make the cooking process super quick, and substituted half&half for the heavy cream. My new fall favourite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Such a delicious recipe. I love this bisque. I made it once with extra squash in place of the carrots and it turned out awesome (if not better than normal). Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
EASY AND YUMMY...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
I tweaked this recipe a bit to enter it in an six ingredients or less cooking contest. I won a second place ribbon! Which is a big deal at our state fair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
I loved this recipe though I added a bit of a twist of my own. I used a combination of vegetable and turkey broth, added half of a pear, a little garlic, a bay leaf (removed before blending)plus a wee bit of light brown sugar. It was the best I ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mugzee's Kitchen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
Oh my, this was amazing! I added 2 cloves minced garlic with the onion and sauteed in butter and coconut oil. I then added 2 stalks diced celery and 1 peeled and diced golden delicious apple to the veggies. I crushed some dried rosemary (about 1-1/2 tsp) in a mortar and pestle and just put in a dash or two of nutmeg. A little bit goes a long way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FoolishCop
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
This was really very good and easy to make. However, since I'm on the paleo diet I made a few substitutions, none of which negatively affected the recipe, and might I say improved it! For example I used EVOO instead of canola oil, I eliminated the butter, and I used coconut milk instead of heavy cream. It still had a very creamy texture to it. Again, a really very good, simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I followed the receipe exactly and used all organic ingredients. This is so easy to make and oh so yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 580) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States