Butternut Squash Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
This recipe has become our Halloween staple for the last 5 years. It is so simple and delicious, even my picky kids love it. I do not use any butter, and we don't add any cream. It doesn't need the added fat for such a healthy recipe, and other than making it slightly creamier, it doesn't do anything for flavor. I add about 1/8 tsp nutmeg, and probably a teaspoon of salt. I decrease this amount if not using low-sodium broth. I have made it with chicken broth as well, but much prefer the veggie broth. I always use an immersion blender right in the pot after the veggies are tender. I learned quickly that it is not a good idea to put hot soup into a standard blender or food processor. The immersion blender gives it the perfect consistency. It is not a spicy soup, the flavoring is simple, but it is perfect for a cold autumn evening. We serve out of bread bowls and with hot wassail.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Fantastic! Brought this to a potluck and got rave reviews! I roasted the squash like others. Also, I added one clove of garlic and 1/2 Granny Smith apple as others suggested, and the optional heavy cream. I found that 2.5 - 3 pounds of squash will be enough for 4 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
wasn't sure in was i was getting into, never had butternut before, but it soooo good. I didn't have onion so I put 2 clove of garlic instead and substitute the vegetable broth for chicken. Well worth my cut finger and two burnt finger lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Cream or no cream...the burning question. I tried it both ways. Hands down I liked it better without the cream. However it was 5 stars either way :D I think, honestly, that the only reason I liked it better without the cream was because I used this outstanding homemade stock I had made the day before! This was a fabulous recipe!!! Thank you so much for sharing it! It was the perfect addition to the care package I am making for my mother after her surgery and was so good for dinner for my grandfather and I. I know I will be making this again and again. xoxoxoxoxoxo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovinghappyhome

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
Thank you for the comments - they were very usefull. I followed many of the suggestions as well as added my own small changes to make the soup more flavorful and full bodied: I roasted all the vegetables including carrots, a red pepper, of course the butternut, as well as a whole head of garlic in olive oil. Added a few chillies to the onion when sautéing and added the roasted garlic purée (which was squeezed out from the whole head of the roasted garlic). Once all was combined I added 1/2 cinnamon stick to the soup with the flavorings after the broth was added (I used homemade beef and chicken broths). At the end I adjusted for taste by adding some honey, since I found the final product not quite sweet enough. It came out a very flavorful bisque and definitely not flat or tasteless as some commenters may have found. This recipe is an excellent starting point and definitely holds its own. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALEKSJAI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kiev, Kiev (Special City), Ukraine
Living In: North Bergen, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
This was such an easy and delicious dish. I added yellow bell pepper to the mix too. Turned out great! In the future, I will use less broth because I like a thicker 'bisque'. Other than that, I won't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
This soup was great! I added some ginger, and topped with a spoonfull of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
I followed the recipe and the end result was all right. I didn't have heavy cream so I left it out. Next time, I'll use less nutmeg and add the heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Very good and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
love
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 583) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States