Butternut Squash Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Be VERY careful if you decide to use your blender - I don't have a hand mixer, and ended up having steam cause my soup to explode out of my blender and seriously burnt my hand. I liked this as a base recipe, but made quite a few changes - I roasted my squash, cooked the onion in butter and about a tablespoon of bacon grease, used 3 large cloves of garlic, used chicken broth I had in the fridge, and served it topped with bacon. Yummy!! It was the first time I ever cooked with or even ate butternut squash, and now it's one of my favorites. Try roasting the seeds with some salt - they're way tastier than pumpkin seeds!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate and John

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Moorestown, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Excellent. My husband called it restaurant quality and raved about it all week. We had leftovers and enjoyed it for days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HALLIE_TORONTO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Wonderful soup, made a few changes to suite my taste: added garlic with the onion, sage instead of nutmeg and for a healthier version Greek yogurt instead of cream. I like mine chunky so didn't liquify but blended nicely in a blender. Great addition to my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Made this a few weeks back for a dinner party. It was enjoyed by all. I did tweak a bit as other suggested in other reviews. I too bake the squash before peeling with a little olive oil and salt & pepper. I also add cayenne pepper and cinnamon to taste. I also used more nutmeg. The result was homey and tasty. I also used my immersion blender instead of transfering to blender - so much neater and easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Petoskey, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I was looking for a recipe similar to my moms, but this was just too thick. We like our soups a little more soupy. Had good flavor, but just not our taste. Im sure its awesome to many others though! If you lke much more thicker soup, then this one will be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CanalZoneGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gainesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Love the original and love everyone's comments. I used a mix of chicken stock and veg stock and no milk product at all. I used bay leaf, an apple, two shakes of cayenne pepper, allspice instead of nutmeg (I am alergic) and added rosemary and fennel seed. I also used roasted butternut squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I made the recipe as written, without the optional heavy cream. I liked it well enough, wasn't bad, but wasn't outstanding. I will try reheating the leftovers tonight and adding an apple like another reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Awesome recipe!! I did take the advice of the others and roasted the squash and used half and half. I think I added a little too much half and half because it came out too runny to be a bisque but too thick to be a soup. It was still delicious and I ate mine with Zesta oyster crackers which are nice and buttery...good compliment to the soup. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NuCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
This recipe has become our Halloween staple for the last 5 years. It is so simple and delicious, even my picky kids love it. I do not use any butter, and we don't add any cream. It doesn't need the added fat for such a healthy recipe, and other than making it slightly creamier, it doesn't do anything for flavor. I add about 1/8 tsp nutmeg, and probably a teaspoon of salt. I decrease this amount if not using low-sodium broth. I have made it with chicken broth as well, but much prefer the veggie broth. I always use an immersion blender right in the pot after the veggies are tender. I learned quickly that it is not a good idea to put hot soup into a standard blender or food processor. The immersion blender gives it the perfect consistency. It is not a spicy soup, the flavoring is simple, but it is perfect for a cold autumn evening. We serve out of bread bowls and with hot wassail.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Fantastic! Brought this to a potluck and got rave reviews! I roasted the squash like others. Also, I added one clove of garlic and 1/2 Granny Smith apple as others suggested, and the optional heavy cream. I found that 2.5 - 3 pounds of squash will be enough for 4 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 571) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States