Butternut Squash Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
The nutmeg is very strong. Would not use more than a dash, literally. Otherwise, a good soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Easily adaptable to a vegan dish. Since I am the only one in my family who likes squash and soups, I halved this recipe and made it in a 3 1/2 qt. slow cooker on low for 6 hrs. To simplify the squash part, I bought it cubed in the freezer section, thawed it in the fridge overnight, then fried it in a skillet for a few minutes with about a Tbsp. (tablespoon) of vegan spread to give it enhanced flavor. I added about 1/2 c. celery and minced it in the food processor with the onion and carrot. I also added about 1 Tbsp. minced, jarred garlic since I love all the flavors together. I took previous reviewers' suggestions and peeled and cored a Granny Smith apple and ground that along with the above veggie mix. I skipped the cream since I'm trying to cut back on dairy and fat calories and used a vegan broth mix. I can tell this flavor will be great with some kale chips crushed and sprinkled on top. Freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mesa Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
I loved how simple this recipe was, it's a great starter and easy to adjust to make it exactly what you want. I followed the basic recipe, using homemade turkey stock and added what I needed of veggie stock to fill in the rest. I skinned the squash without roasting it, and added it to the 1 full onion and carrots that were already in the pot, then after everything cooked down I added the nutmeg, coriander, white pepper, salt and a little bit of black truffle oil. I also replaced the heavy cream with a couple Tbs of plain greek yogurt to cut back on the fat content. It turned out so well, and it's also easy to freeze so I can have a nice comfort food anytime I want. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emjackson81

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
I wasn't impressed. Followed the recipe to a T. I even had the Hubby help cut the squash. :-) It needed something still. I even added some cinnamon along with the nutmeg. I shall just keep on looking for that perfect butternut soup recipe. I shared with my Mom, who agreed that it needed something more. Thanks anyway Phonelady55
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tink

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2013
Amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Simple, silky, subtle! This isn't an overwhelming soup, bold flavors. Next time, I'll make double. Leave out the cream to freeze it, then add when I reheat later. Dreamy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Leigh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Delish! Tastes like Thanksgiving in a bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Very tasty indeed and on the nutritious side. Only deviations I made: -Roasted squash first. -Did not have heavy cream so not sure if that would have made it better than it already was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mr. Whisk

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Ok the soup is absolutely delicious. The taste deserves 5 stars, and I haven't even added the cream yet (and still can't decide if I will it's so good without it!). However butternut squash has got to be the most difficult vegetable I have ever peeled and cubed! And for any other novice chefs like myself BE AWARE this squash secretes a juice that will cause severe dry skin! Use gloves or something! Not painful but incredibly disgusting. Recipe is awesome! But a lot of prep, which is the only reason I gave it one less star than perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
Great recipe! I agree roast the squash first and instead of heavy cream add some smoked gouda cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 583) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States