Butternut Squash Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I used purchased cubed butternut squash from the supermarket so this was very quick to put together. I added 1 inch of fresh ginger to the blender; it adds a nice kick. I added some potatoes instead of the cream for a nice vegan version of this recipe. I shared some with a sick friend and she loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I followed it exactly as it was listed and it is delicious! I think cooking the squash in the broth instead of cooking it in the oven adds flavor because it gets to simmer in the seasonings. It is a little difficult to peel it, but it was totally worth it in the end. A little tip is to slice the skin with a sharp knife on a cutting board because it goes faster than a peeler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I loved this soup! I am on Weight Watchers and could not believe the nutrition facts about this soup. I modified the recipe by making my own vegetable stock (no salt). That is the only modification I made and according to WW, the soup is 8 pts TOTAL, for the entire batch! I even added regular half and half. The homemade stock and pre-roasting the squash before hand was key. I did add a dash of sea salt to my bowl at the end. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Easy and good. I subbed curry powder for nutmeg and added a small pinch of rosemary. I also did the roast-the-squash-first trick in the microwave. My 2+ lb squash needed about 15 mins in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I really liked this recipe. I was a little unsure because I have only had butternut squash once and didn't care for it, but had one so decided to try it. Has good flavor and was really quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
My husband begs for this all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Absolutely delicious! This recipe is certainly a keeper. I am not a huge fan of altering recipes on my first try, but I had food in the oven and on the stovetop when I realized that I would need to substitute in chicken stock in place of the vegetable stock--but the soup still turned out beautifully. I also baked the squash instead of peeling and cubing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Be VERY careful if you decide to use your blender - I don't have a hand mixer, and ended up having steam cause my soup to explode out of my blender and seriously burnt my hand. I liked this as a base recipe, but made quite a few changes - I roasted my squash, cooked the onion in butter and about a tablespoon of bacon grease, used 3 large cloves of garlic, used chicken broth I had in the fridge, and served it topped with bacon. Yummy!! It was the first time I ever cooked with or even ate butternut squash, and now it's one of my favorites. Try roasting the seeds with some salt - they're way tastier than pumpkin seeds!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate and John

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Excellent. My husband called it restaurant quality and raved about it all week. We had leftovers and enjoyed it for days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HALLIE_TORONTO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Wonderful soup, made a few changes to suite my taste: added garlic with the onion, sage instead of nutmeg and for a healthier version Greek yogurt instead of cream. I like mine chunky so didn't liquify but blended nicely in a blender. Great addition to my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 568) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States