Butternut Squash Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
Great recipe , cold or hot. I made a few adjustments as recommended by reviewer IMVINTAGE. I added a dollop of greek yogart at the end and it was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Delicious! Savored every bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
I followed the recipe as stated except I used half and half in stead of heavy cream. I was amazed how wonderful it was.! Nice consistency, flavor and eye appeal! Definitely would recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Loved it. And great idea in the reviews to roast the squash first and leave out the cream. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
Really good. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Used chicken broth and whipping cream. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I thought this tasted pretty good. I only have one more recipe that I like more, because it has an apple added to it giving it a slightly sweet bite. It was so quick and easy to make though. All of the ingredients fit into a pot I have with 3" sides. I used 2 (12oz) packages of peeled and cubed butternut squash I bought from Trader Joes. When I measured both bags, together, they pretty much equaled the 4 cups. I have no patience to peel and cube a fresh squash. I used no-salt vegetable broth cubes. Once I added the broth, I cooked the vegetables for 15 minutes on medium high or approximately 7 on my stove. Then I turned off the heat and let it sit 5 more on that burner. I ladled it into the blender and processed about 30 seconds on speed 10 and then about 2 minutes on high. I tasted it and decided to add garlic salt, to taste, or about 1/2 tsp., and a dash extra of black pepper. I didn't add the optional heavy cream and it did not need it. I recalculated the calories without it and it came to 182.5 per serving. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
This was great. Used fat free plain Greek yogurt instead of heavy cream. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
I've never made butternut squash soup before this came out nicely-- I easily got 4 servings. This recipe can take more than 1 hr to make if you pre-roast your squash.The second time I made it I cooked it in the microwave for 10 min with poked holes,1" water. I used 1 butternut squash which was enough for the proportions I used(approximately 9" long,9"around) If you forget to take out your seeds beforehand it can be done after. I recovered 2-1/4 cups of squash innards. I started on the stove after the squash was done in the oven. I cooked 1 onion (I love onions) in no more than 1tbsp of unsalted butter for 5-10 minutes; then I threw in my 3, small-ish rainbow carrots (also about 9" in length). It took me a while to scoop out all of the butternut squash innards, but they were super-soft, and I just stirred them in with the carrots and onions gradually, so the ingredients were together without stock for longer than usual. For stock: I poured in 3 to 3-1/2 cups of cold tap water into my pot, stirred, and then put in 3 teaspoons of Knorr chicken bouillon. B/c of this, I used no extra seasoning (family/guests can season their own bowls). Heated for 15-20 min(again: my squash was already cooked-->less cook time). I poured the soup into individual cups and bowls to cool faster -> food processor. Took 1/2hr to cool; pureed; was great without cream (let folks add to own bowls). Added 2 tbsp of cream to 2-1/2"c of soup and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Very thick & velvety good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 577) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States