Butternut Squash Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I roast the squash for about 40 minutes at 350 degrees then proceed with the recipe. I may add the cream but it didn't add anything for me so I leave it out. My husband is not a big fan of blended soups but LOVED this recipe. Also after it was cooled my 6 month old tasted it and loved it as well. I am currently making my third batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jay3T
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
First time making this soup. I was looking for something different. Roasting the squash first definitely helps. Also I added garlic, a golden delicious apple, and a lil cayenne pepper to it...wanted something spicy. I also used extra virgin olive oil instead of the butter and other oil to make it a little healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
This is a wonderful recipe. I have made it several times. Once I added curry for a twist. There is so much you can do or just leave it be. Great with Italian Bread fresh from the oven. . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GaelBandia
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I roasted all the veggies first and then just skipped to adding the stock and spices. Yummmmm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I liked this soup at first, but *Loved It* after making a couple tweeks based on IMVINTAGE's review and a couple others. I followed the original recipe pretty closely going a little heavy on the carrots, which I liked, and I used a high quality organic vegetable stock from Trader Joe's - really important. I've used this stock in other soups and it really adds a great flavor. After adding everything the original called for, I added a large clove of garlic and a granny smith apple (credit: IMVINTAGE). The apple is genius! I would never have thought to add apple to soup myself, but glad I did b/c the tiny bit of tartness was perfection. I pureed half the soup for one meal and left the other half for my husband who is going to use it over pork chops later this week (I think the apple flavor gave him the idea). I'm vegan and he's not so it can be a lot of work finding/cooking things we both like - this recipe worked out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
I made this for a friend that cannot have any gluten or dairy. I didn't use any butter or cream. It turned out amazing! My husband want me to make it all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Didn't change much in this. I always have squash roasted and frozen from fall harvesting, so I simple use what I have stored in the deep freeze. It makes making this so lightening fast. I use vegetable Better Than Bouillon for the broth. It has such a nice flavor in soups. I do use 1/2 and 1/2 to save a few calories:) We really enjoy this soup, and don't find it bland at all. I even forget the nutmeg all the time. Oh! well never missed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chickadee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beloit, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
An easy soup if you make as directed by keeping it simple and cook the squash first.Next time perhaps I will use something more healthy then heavy cream.I am trying to eat better, staying away from Fast food and pizza joints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
It was a good start, but it definitely needed something. I added mushrooms and a jalapeno. Perhaps the original recipe is based on a really flavorful veggie broth that didn't require much else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
This is a great recipe. I roast the squash first as others have recommended. I freeze half for a later day & it's still yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 568) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States