Butternut Squash Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
This turned out really good. Used beef broth (all I had) and added minced garlic and minced celery. going to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
I found that adding more cream and a few more spices did the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Riding, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Wonderful even without the addition of the heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Delicious! I skipped the cream, and went lighter on the nutmeg. I also used precut squash to cut back on time. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
I make this and freeze it... Everyone raves about this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I'm in love! I give this 5 stars because of the wonderful tips and additions given by other reviewers. For me personally, I always read the reviews and they become part of the recipe so I think it's fair to 5-star a recipe even if it ends up being a bit different than the original. Like many others, I halved my approx. foot long squash and baked the 2 halves. I sprinkled the cut sides with nutmeg. While it was cooking, I cooked half an onion in some olive oil with 1tsp jarred minced ginger, added carrots and an entire gala apple cored but unpeeled. I added my pepper here along with a touch of nutmeg and cinnamon (no salt). I added my carton of vegie stock (I realized too late that it was almost 4 cups). When I diced my roasted squash, I felt the amount of stock would be fine compared to how much squash I had. Brought it to a boil and simmered on low for an hour as I had to run out the door. When I got back, I dumped it all into my super duper blender and let it run until no more chunks were visible, poured it back into a pot and tested it out. The texture and consistency were perfecto! The taste was deadly!!! I didn't add cream as we have lactose issues but I was thinking if serving to guests, a decorative splash of plain whipping cream would be mind blowing. The only thing I would change from what I did was only add nutmeg once, either on my squash before baking or when cooking the other vegies. This soup was restaurant quality and I'm thinking w/out cream it'll freeze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Very easy to make and definitely a whole food. My 17-year old step-son loves this so I can get an orange vegetable in him easily. This can cook while you prepare all your other things so I highly recommend this as easy, nutritious and very simple. A stick blender is a much more simple way to get all ingredients mixed in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BluesDivaCA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Fantastic! Read others reviews first and added a whole sliced golden delicious apple (with the peel) with the carrots. Used two butternut squashes and probably double the carrots it called for (I was doubling and then adding more). Used chicken stock, added minced garlic, ginger and fat free half and half in place of cream. loved it. will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Loved this! I also roasted the squash before the rest of the steps and I added a bit of garlic and a bay leaf and left out the nutmeg. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Malena

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
This was so delicious! I roasted the squash before, as others suggested, and used one can of chicken broth & half a can of vegetable broth. I used the heavy cream, too. I still felt like it could use something else, so I added a pinch of allspice in the end - I recommend it! The allspice pulled it all together and made the flavors pop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Harte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henley, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 581) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States