Butternut Squash Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Good soup but not something I can eat a lot of, nor do I ever get a craving to make it. Cut way back on the brown sugar, and it was still a little bit sweet for my taste. My 2 year old really loved it though. Not super crazy about the leeks either. Thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Mine came out too sweet despite halving the amount of brown sugar- next time I will cut out even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Great flavor to this soup. It is time intensive, and in the future I will probably skip the last step of saute-ing the last cup of squash. It was definitely sweeter than I expected, but it makes for a tasty treat on a cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I have made this recipe multiple times and it always turns out amazing! I do make a few changes such as omit the leeks and put in less onion. I put in cinnamon to take instead of a stick. Also I use a few ladles of the reserve liquid in the soup. I make a large batch and then freeze it in quart size freezer bags. This way it is quick and easy whenever we want to have some. Thank you for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I liked this so much more than I expected to. The only change I made was that I halved the squash and roasted it at 400 for an hour, and then just pureed all of the soup with my immersion blender. It's just easier that way. Fall in a bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gambrills, Maryland, USA
Living In: Crofton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
This is the best Butternut Squash Bisque I have ever made and believe me, I've tried a lot of recipes over the past three years! I've been searching for a particular flavor and I think I've finally found it! I was out of regular OJ so I stole some Sunny D from the kids and only had Gala apples on hand (again, because of a kid) and I like my bisque a bit creamier so I used about 1 cup of heavy cream. I'm sure that added some sweetness, but I'll probably try it with regular OJ later this fall. Even my husband, who quickly tired of my attempts in the past, tasted this one and said it was good. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justynajd
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
I just made this tonight & it is wonderful! I made it to have for the coming weekend & I can't stop tasting it- doubt it will last 2 days. Will make home made french bread & salad to go with it- perfect! Thank you- this one stays in my recipe box for sure ; ) I peeled & cut up the squash & roasted as the recipe says-- any hints on peeling butternut squash? That was the tough part- the rest is quick & easy. I may just cut in half & bake cut side down wiht oJ & the brown sugar & cinnamon next time & then just scoop out. Other than that this is a very easy recipe & tastes restaurant quality. I am thinking of making a batch & freeze in smaller containers for those snowy winter nights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Delicious!! The only changes I made were that I cut the squash in half and baked it in the oven and then scraped it out and added it to the dutch oven with the liquid ingredients and spices. I also did not use leeks, just added more onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Wow! My husband and I both loved this bisque. It's both sweet and savory and was the perfect accompaniment to a sweet pasta dish. I pretty much followed this recipe word for word except that I baked all of the squash in the roasting pan and then pretty much omitted step three entirely. I added a few ladles full of the reserved liquid to the soup mixture before blending to give it a little bit more sweetness. To make up for leaving out step 3, I didn't blend the mixture as long in the blender leaving a bit chunkier texture. I topped it with some toasted slivered almonds. Yum! It turned out perfectly and froze beautifully. It was even better two weeks later when I pulled it out of the freezer and reheated it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I steamed the squash cubes, used organic yogurt in place of cream, used canola oil in place of butter. My husband suggested putting in some crab, which I did. Verdict: doesn't necessarily add to the flavour. Definitely will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mistral406

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States