Butternut Squash Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
Ok, I changed from blue to feta cheese (I don't like blue cheese) and did not measure anything, which I love about it. I make this all the time, a fave butternut recepie, watch the oil tho, gets greasy. http://single-girl-gourmet.blogspot.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
This was AMAZING! The only change I made was that I used crushed corn flakes & Italian seasoning instead of seasoned bread crumbs and did not add salt & pepper. This is SO good that my husband and kids immediately asked if I would make this again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Delicious and easy! I used the feta, but will definitely try it with blue cheese as well. I put all ingredients in a gallon zip lock bag and shake it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
This is one of the best recipes I have tried here. I had a butternut squash that I purchased at the local farmer's market that I needed to use and I wanted something other than soup. I used goat cheese (it was all I had) instead of feta. The flavors were so delicate and wonderful and it was so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
I didn't have fresh thyme so I used the dried minced thyme I had in my cupboard, and 6 oz. of mozzerella cheese, because that is what I had on hand. To be honest, I've never really had blue cheese before. I skipped putting the last 1/4 cup of Italian crumbs over the top because what was mixed in there seemed like enough. (I had a smaller squash.) About three-fourths through baking, I stirred the squash and mashed it down. It was pretty good. It tasted just fine. And it tasted like it had a little bit of stuffing mixed in. I couldn't taste the mozzerella. Thanks for the recipe. I always like experimenting with different ways to make vegetables. Next time I'll buy some blue cheese and give it a try. And maybe a little extra olive oil for the bottom of the baking dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shyla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rice Lake, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Onalaska, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
I thought this was great. I love butternut squash and am always looking for new ways to have it. I did make one change - I'm a Vegan, so I didn't use the cheese, but still found it to be quite yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
This was the first time I ever made butternut squash, and I don't think I'll ever make it any other way......sooooo goooood
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fluffy74

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Very good - I left out the cheese (I couldn't find vegetarian bleu cheese...and yes, not all cheese is vegetarian! ;) but, otherwise, made it as stated and was happy with it. I mashed it up and mixed with some basmati rice. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
This was delicious! I loved the sweet taste of the squash with the tartness of the blue cheese. Yum! Even my three-year-old son ate it (who is very picky).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Needles, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
AMAZING!! The only thing I changed was using gorgonzola instead of bleu cheese, but really it would pretty much taste the same. I think I may have left it in for longer, just keep testing it, making sure the texture is right. Everybody at thanksgiving dinner thought it was the best dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisan

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash Cajun Fries

See how to make spicy, salty, slightly sweet baked squash fries.

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States