Butternut Squash Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
This is an excellent recipe! The only thing I did different was cutting the onion into wedges instead of mincing it -- I think it gave the dish a better presentation. I will definitely use this recipe again! Even my boyfriend, who isn't very fond of squash nor blue cheese, liked it a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LashGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
This was a huge disappointment for me. Will still keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Delicious! Used goat cheese instead of blue cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
This was delicious! I would say that it is very rich and as a side dish may be a bit too heavy. I made it for a vegetarian friend and he loved it. The fresh thyme really adds to the flavors. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Margarita, California, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Delicious! I have never cooked butternut squash before and didn't have high hopes because I'm not a fan of butternut squash soup. But this was wonderful (and veggies are NOT my favorite things). I don't like blue cheese so I used feta. This will definitely be a regular side dish at my house this winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
My husband bragged about this to our family for days. He couldn't stop eating it and begged me to make more. I used feta cheese instead and added some ground up Fiber one for added fiber and some panko for added crunch and mixed it with the bread crumbs. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
This was an excellent dish! I was concerned about everything drying out from not being covered for 40 minutes, but it turned out fine. I had to improvise a little, but the base of the dish was still an excellent idea. I used parmesan bread crumbs and added italian type herbs to them. Didn't have any blue cheese to add, but the squash stood on its own merit. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Just made this for dinner tonight! OMG, it's sooooo delicious!!!! I baked it for about 45 minutes...and added about 1/2 cup of bread crumbs on the top instead of a 1/4 of a cup and added a few more ounces of blue cheese. Soooo delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissyB

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
this is always gets finished when i bring it to a potluck and people want more. there is so much flavor, it is so easy, and so versatile. most of the time i don't even use the thyme because i don't have it on hand. it tastes great with leeks too, for a more mild onion flavor component.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
This is a fantastic concept. I love the savory treatment of butternut. I get sick of it being treated luke a sweet potato. Of course, I have a couple of comments. I added tart diced Apple to the casserole, and cut the cheese back a bit. It was a little much for my taste. I prob used about 2/3 of the cheese. The Apple was a wonderful touch. I did have to cover it with foil because it was losing too much moisture and browning too quickly on the top, while the underside was still crunchy. Delicious! What a great idea! I am going to try mixing it up even mire with different cheeses and maybe some walnuts. Will definitely make again, but I do think its one of those recipes that you have to make a couple times to tweak to your taste because the flavors are pretty bold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by icountbeans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States