Butternut Squash Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Very good. I used Macedonian sirenje (similar to feta) instead of blue cheese, crushed crackers instead of bread crumbs, and a basil/oregano spice mix for the thyme. Super tasty and will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
I've never cooked butternut squash before, but we LOVED this casserole dish, and will serve it for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
this was ok for us. the blue cheese took over the flavor of the dish. topped with panko (unseasoned) which didn't help as it was very bland. thanks for the post THT. **edit - the leftovers mixed with some cooked pasta w/mixed veggies turned this into a nice leftover main dish sprinkled with some parm & black pepper.**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
OMG! This turned out fantastic! What a great mix of flavors! I can't help tweek recipes to make them healthier (in my opinion). I used much less olive oil, no additional salt and less bread crumbs and added hot pepper, pine nuts and arugula...for me a perfect main dish! I did stir 3/4 through the baking and got more uniformed crunchy brownness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
Boring until you add this: cranberries, bacon crumbles, shredded carrots, corn and walnuts on top of the blue cheese and cubed squash, I also used red onion instead-what a hit! I am making it for Thanksgiving now by request. Also, you can add some elbow macoroni to make it go farther...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Yum! We had leftovers so I made "applesauce by cooking it down with a bit of water and more cinnamon. Great in applesauce pancakes, applesauce bread...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Very tasty--probably one of my favorite dishes for butternut squash. I did try cooking this dish in a small casserole type dish which made it very hard to bake the squash in the center so I definitely recommend using a large dish like a 9x13 in pan and then spreading it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
Family loved this recipe, I used feta and it was great. I recommend microwaving the squash first to make it easier to cut the squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
This was the first time I tried butternut squash and I absolutely loved it!! Will be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA
Living In: Campbell, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
This was AWESOME! Mouth-watering, and most of it was gone by the time dinner was over. I substituted feta cheese for the blue cheese and used Garlic bread crumbs instead of Italian. Spectacular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States